TATA IPL 2023: List of Captains in TATA IPL 2023. Who Will Lead the IPL teams? All You Need to Know. 

Here is a quick look at the skippers of the teams in TATA IPL 2023.


The TATA IPL 2023 is around the corner, and the IPL teams are yet to officially announce their captains. Some of the skippers are obvious. You cannot replace Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, or Faf Du Plessis. We have seen these skippers do wonders for the teams. David Warner inspired the 2016 triumph of the Sunrisers, and MSD took CSK home in 2011 in the game against the Punjab Kings! Their presence as skippers is self-explanatory. The Delhi Capitals, the Sunrisers Hyderabad, and the Punjab Kings have a change in captaincy this season! Here is a look at the list of captains in the TATA IPL 2023

TATA IPL 2023 Captains List:

Team Name Skipper Position Nationality 
Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni Finisher Indian 
Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Opener Indian 
Kolkata Knight Riders Shreyas Iyer (Subject to fitness) Middle-Order Batter Indian 
Royal Challengers Bangalore Faf Du Plessis Opener South African 
Punjab Kings Shikhar Dhawan Opener Indian 
Lucknow Super Giants KL Rahul Opener/Keeper Indian 
Gujarat Titans Hardik Pandya Finisher/Middle-Order Indian 
Delhi Capitals David Warner(Likely) Opener Australian 
Sunrisers Hyderabad Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Likely) Pacer Indian 
Rajasthan Royals Sanju Samson Middle-Order/Keeper Indian 

Sunrisers Hyderabad is yet to Announce their Captain for the TATA IPL 2023: 

The Sunrisers Hyderabad are yet to announce their captain for the TATA IPL 2023 season. The most likely candidates for that role are Mayank Agarwal and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Mayank couldn’t handle dual roles the last time around, so handing over the captaincy to him cannot be the ideal thing to do.  

Bhuvi is most-likely the skipper of the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Bhuvi hence becomes an ideal candidate. He has the experience and he has led the Sunrisers earlier as well. But his bowling must not feel the pangs of captaincy. He must ensure that he must not under-bowl himself on any such occasion. In the absence of Mohammed Kaif and Suresh Raina, Bhuvi has led the UP team too. Here is a look at his bowling stats: 

Matches 249 
Wickets 256 
Average 25.7 
Economy 7.15 
Best 5/4 

Delhi Capitals Need to Replace Rishabh Pant: 

It is now time for Warner to show character and his leadership skills. IMG SRC: Australian Cricket team.

This is one of the most down-grading statements that I can make as there is no replacement for Rishabh Pant. The mere way that he comes out to bat is the ultimate boss moment. He rules the pitch while he is present on it. But this time around, the Capitals will miss his services. So, David Warner needs to step up in such cases. He has a history of leading a team to the ultimate glory of winning an IPL title.  

He has achieved that and much more with the Sunrisers Hyderabad. The other options to make a good leader are Prithvi Shaw and Manish Pandey. Even Mithcell Marsh can take up this role. Prithvi Shaw as he has experience leading the MCA teams. And Manish Pandey because he is one of the most legendary skippers in the history of domestic cricket. 

To know more go to TATA IPL 2023: Highest Wicket Takers in the History of the Tournament. Most Wickets in IPL History.

Read more such articles at Transfer Updates: Cancelo to Bayern Munich, Enzo Fernandez to Chelsea. 500 Million Spent By Chelsea. Best January Transfer Updates.

To know more go to the official websites of the BCCI where official notices are released.