IPL 2024
IPL 2024

IPL 2024: Lucknow Super Giants vs Chennai Super Kings Match Highlights and Player of the Match| Orange Cap | Purple Cap: In the Indian Premier League 2024 (IPL) match number 34, Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) defeated Chennai Super Kings by 8 wickets while chasing 176 runs at their home ground and ended their losing streak with this win.

In yesterday’s match, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were deprived of a hat-trick of wins by suffering a crushing defeat by 8 wickets at the Ekana Stadium. Captain KL Rahul’s wise decision to bowl first after winning the toss in the match proved beneficial.

CSK could score a total of 176/6 with the help of all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja’s brilliant 57* and contributions from Ajinkya Rahane (36) and MS Dhoni (28* off 9 balls).

Krunal Pandya and Marcus Stoinis were the bowling stars for LSG, who kept the CSK batsmen in check. In reply, openers KL Rahul (82 off 53) and Quinton de Kock (54 off 43) laid the foundation of victory by making a brilliant partnership of 134 runs.

Even after De Kock’s dismissal, Rahul continued his aggressive innings, but Jadeja’s sensational catch with one hand ended his innings. Nicholas Pooran and Marcus Stoinis ensured a comfortable finish as LSG won with 1 over to spare.

Also Read: TATA IPL Points Table 2024, A Massive Defeat for CSK against LSG in Match no.34

CSK bowlers struggled to contain the LSG batsmen. Mathisha Pathirana (1/29 in 4 overs) offered some resistance. With this win, LSG has got 8 points in the table and joins KKR, CSK and SRH.

Both CSK and LSG find themselves in the top five with the reverse match taking place on Tuesday in Chennai. This promises to be another exciting encounter as both teams look to consolidate their positions in the IPL 2024 standings!

IPL 2024: Lucknow Super Giants Captain and Player of the Match, KL Rahul:

He said: “It feels good at the end of the day. When you win, most of the decisions feel right. We were committed to our plans, and I’m really happy with it. I deployed my bowlers depending on the wicket, and we tried to mix it up.

The bowlers performed really well, and the team would have been happy to score 160 at the half given the slow wicket and the catch. But put pressure on, because he has the quality to scare the opposition bowlers. Our young bowlers were also under pressure, which gave the opposition 15-20 extra runs, I am trying to assess the situation.

And that’s what happened today. I knew that CSK’s spinners would put pressure on me, so I chose my bowlers accordingly, playing in Chennai is a different kind of crowd. We’re happy to play in front of such a crowd.”

IPL 2024
IPL 2024

Chennai Super Kings captain Ruturaj Gaikwad: “We did well with the bat considering the situation we were in. However, after the powerplay, we could not take advantage of the start and kept losing wickets at regular intervals.

I believe we were ahead by 10-15 runs, less than what we could have achieved. With the impact bye rule, you need extra runs. Such pitches start slowly but with dew. A score of 190 would have been good. We need to improve in one area and put pressure on the opposition. It is good to play them again in the next three home matches.”

Also Read: IPL 2024: Gujarat Titans vs Delhi Capitals Highlights| Most Sixes & Fours | Century and Half Century

IPL 2024: Updated Orange Cap:

1Virat KohliRCB772361113*72.20245147.34123514
2Riyan ParagRR77231884*63.60197161.42032220
3Rohit SharmaMI771297105*49.50181164.08103018
4K L RahulLSG7702868240.86200143.00022511
5Sunil NarineKKR66027610946.00147187.75112620
6Sanju SamsonRR77227682*55.20178155.05032711
7Shubman GillGT77126389*43.83174151.1402219
8Heinrich KlaasenSRH66225380*63.25127199.2103924
9Jos ButtlerRR662250107*62.50169147.92202210
10Nicholas PooranLSG77424664*82.00150164.00011320
11Shivam DubeCSK77224566*49.00156157.05022015

IPL 2024: Updated Purple Cap:

1Jasprit BumrahMI7728.0167135/2112.845.9612.9201
2Yuzvendra ChahalRR7726.0217123/1118.088.3413.0000
3Gerald CoetzeeMI7726.3263124/3421.919.9213.2510
4Mustafizur RahmanCSK6624.0226114/2920.549.4113.0910
5Khaleel AhmedDC7728.0229102/2122.908.1716.8000
6Kagiso RabadaPBKS7728.0233102/1823.308.3216.8000
7Sam CurranPBKS7722.0193103/2819.308.7713.2000
8Harshal PatelPBKS7726.0263103/3126.3010.1115.6000
9Matheesha PathiranaCSK4416.011794/2813.007.3110.6610
10Pat CumminsSRH6624.018993/4321.007.8716.0000
11Arshdeep SinghPBKS7725.124094/2926.669.5316.7710

Visit: IPLT20