IPL 2024 KKR Squad, Captain, Released Players, Retention list
IPL 2024 KKR Squad, Captain, Released Players, Retention list

IPL 2024 KKR Squad, Captain, Released Players, Retention list: Kolkata Knight Riders, A franchise with many World-Class Players in the Past, like Brendon McCullum, and Gautam Gambhir. Under Gautam Gambhir’s Captaincy, KKR won two IPL trophies.

This Season, KKR played good cricket without Skipper Shreyas Iyer and All-Rounder Pat Cummins. KKR finished the Tata IPL 2023 at the 7th spot. New Skipper Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, and Venkatesh Iyer impressed everyone with their performance.

For a long time, KKR didn’t won any Title and they hope to win the next season. In IPL 2024, they will try to fill all their weak points of IPL 2023. For IPL 2024, KKR need to buy good players in the auction to make a balanced squad for the next season.

Why KKR failed to qualify for IPL 2023 Playoffs:

In the IPL 2023, Shreyas Iyer, the captain of KKR, could not played in this season due to an injury. As a result, the team trusted the inexperienced Nitish Rana and gave him the captaincy role. While, Rana excelled with the bat, his performance as a captain suffered due to poor team selection and this is the one of the reason behind KKR’s failure to qualify for the IPL playoffs.

One of the main reasons for KKR’s struggles in this season was the failure of their opening batsmen. This was a significant setback for the team. However, they made a positive change by including Jason Roy in their lineup, and he delivered outstanding performances in several matches.

Additionally, Venkatesh Iyer showed good intent as an opener, playing some impressive innings, including a century. This shows his potential to perform well in the matches. In terms of bowling, KKR missed the presence of some notable players in their playing XI in the current season.

Lockie Ferguson, who played a crucial role in helping his previous team to win the IPL trophy, was not effectively utilized by KKR’s management. Furthermore, Pat Cummins withdraw from the IPL for personal reasons this season but will likely return to play for KKR in the upcoming season.

KKR is focused on finding a balance in their squad for the next season to address the challenges they faced in IPL 2023. They aim to strengthen their opening partnerships and make better use of their talented bowlers to improve their performance in the tournament.

Read This Also: IPL 2023 Prize Money Players List, Winner Runner-up, Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Emerging Player, Most Valuable Player

Areas where KKR needs to Improve:

Top orders: Kolkata Knight Riders should invest in good Indian Openers batters, because of poor opening pair, KKR lost their early wickets this season. CSK has Ruturaj and Conway, whereas GT Shubman Gill and Saha always gave a good start to their teams. So, they need a Good opener for their team.

Bowling: Kolkata had good bowlers like Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, and Varun Chakravarthy but needed better pace options. Due to multiple injuries, the pacers of KKR missed multiple matches this season. Poor bowling performances led KKR lost multiple games this season. KKR is trying to buy some good pace bowlers in the IPL 2024 auction.  

IPL 2024 KKR Retention List (Expected):

Nitish Rana, Venkatesh Iyer, Andre Russell, Rinku Singh, Varun Chakravarthy, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Suyash Sharma, David Wiese, Shardul Thakur, Lockie Ferguson.

IPL 2024 KKR Released Players list (expected):

Mandeep Singh, Narayan Jagadeesan, Kulwant Khejroliya, Harshit Rana, Anukul Roy, Liton Das, Aarya Desai. 

IPL 2024 KKR Full Squad (Expected):

Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Nitish Rana, Andre Russell, Rinku Singh, Venkatesh Iyer, Umesh Yadav, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Sunil Narine, David Weise, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Suyash Sharma, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, Vaibhav Arora.

Read This Also: IPL 2024 RCB Squad, Captain, Released Players, Retention list | Royal Challengers Bangalore

For More Check Official Site: IPLT20