Border Gavaskar Test: Australia call for reinforcements with spinner included in Australia squad for Border Gavaskar Test against India

Border Gavaskar Test
Border Gavaskar Test

Border Gavaskar Test: Australia have reacted swiftly to their disappointing defeat to India in the first Test at the Nagpur Vidharva Cricket Stadium by adding fly spinner Matt Kuhnmann to the squad for the remainder of the tour.

Kuhnmann will be considered for his Test debut in the second Test of the Border Gavaskar Test series starting on Friday in Delhi, with the left-arm seamer joining the squad as a replacement for leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson.

Swepson missed out on selection for Australia’s innings and 132-run defeat to India and decided to go home to be with his wife for the birth of their child.

This opens the door for Kuhnmann to play in the second Test as Australia’s selectors look to reshuffle their XI and return for the four-match Test series.

Kuhnmann could vie with fellow lefty Ashton Agar for a separate spin option, while the selectors expect experienced left-armer Mitchell Starc and star all-rounder Cameron Green to be fit to play.

Border Gavaskar Test
Border Gavaskar Test

Some interesting points of Border Gavaskar first test match.

In-form batsman Travis Head is another player who could be recalled for the Delhi Test, with the left-handed batsman surprisingly being dropped for the series-opener despite performing well at home during the recent summer. given.

While Kuhnmann is yet to play a Test for Australia, he featured in four ODIs against Sri Lanka in the middle of last year and managed to take six wickets. Australia currently lead the ICC World Test Championship standings and India need to avoid a 4-0 whitewash to ensure they reach June’s final at The Oval.

India vs Austealia Test Match Squads:

India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Srikar Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed SirajBenchShubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Umesh Yadav

Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Matt Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

India vs Austealia 1st Test Match Scorecard.

IND vs AUS Test Match

AUS. 1st Inn. 177/10 (63.5 Over)
IND 1st Inn. 400/10 (139.3 Over)
AUS 2nd Inn. 91/10 (32.3 Over)

Also Read:ICC World Test Championship 2023 After India vs Australia 1st Test Updated Points Table.