IPL 2023: Top 3 bowlers who can win the Purple Cap award

IPL 2023
Yuzvendra Chahal

IPL 2023 is scheduled to kick off in the month of March. With the T20 World Cup 2022 halfway completed, all eyes are now set on the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League and the franchises have started thinking about their respective teams and players. 

Unlike others, some players have their places fixed in their franchises – they are usually the top batters and top performers of their respective teams. In one of our previous articles, we have already discussed about the potential top batters of this season. In this one, we shall be doing the same thing for bowlers, i.e, the top 3 bowlers who can win the Purple Cap award in IPL 2023

3. Jasprit Bumrah 

Jasprit Bumrah

Despite consistently being one of the top bowlers in the Indian Premier League for quite some time now, Jasprit Bumrah has never had the fortune of winning the Purple cap award. He is mostly effective in death overs and thus he focuses more on withholding runs as compared to picking up wickets. 

However, having had a long break from International cricket due to his injury, Jasprit Bumrah will be prepared to prove himself again in the Indian Premier League – lest his place in the Indian team is taken by the upcoming names like Arshdeep Singh. Thus, we might see Bumrah in a different role this time around where he might pick up way more wickets in IPL 2023.

2. Umran Malik 

Outlook India

Jammu & Kashmir’s Umran Malik has become a household name in just two years. He is by far the fastest bowler India has ever seen and his pace often baffles even some cricket legends. Besides being one of the fastest bowlers in the league, Malik is also slowly evolving into a cunning bowler, thanks to the guidance of SRH’s bowling coach Dale Steyn. 

Last year, he picked up 22 wickets in 14 matches and finished at number 4 on the Purple Cap list. Next season in IPL 2023, he has a chance to better his performance and win the prestigious award. 

1. Yuzvendra Chahal 

Source: DNA India

Last, but not least, we come to Rajasthan Royals’ Yuzvendra Chahal who won the award last year and is surely the favourite to win it this year too. Chahal is one of the best spinners in the world right now and a T20 specialist. 

He is one of the most experienced spinners in the IPL right now and he uses his experience to his advantage in every single match. Maybe that is why he picked up as many as 27 wickets in 17 matches last season and beat Wanindu Hasaranga by just 1 wicket. 

Also Read:- Indian Cricket Team: Squad for New Zealand Tour Announced. Hardik to Lead in T20Is, Shikhar to Lead in ODIs.