Indian Cricket Team

The Indian Cricket Team for the India Tour of New Zealand 2022 has been announced. Hardik Pandya has been announced as the T20I captain, and Shikhar Dhawan is set to lead the ODI team. Both the senior players will take the leadership roles in the absence of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, who will be rested. Umran Malik has made a return to the squad. Here is an in-depth look at the other updates: 

Umran Malik has made a comeback to the Indian Cricket Team: 

Indian Cricket Team
Umran is back. IMG SRC: The Indian Express

After getting dropped following his mediocre performances in Ireland and England, pace-sensation has made a strong comeback to the Indian cricket team. Umran’s best weapon in the war is his raw pace. The Indian Cricket Team management needs to make effective use of his abilities. Other big names to make a comeback to the team are Kuldeep Yadav and Shreyas Iyer. Kuldeep Yadav has been rewarded for his excellent performance in the IPL. Shreyas Iyer was the one who had a splendid New Zealand tour back in 2020.  

Hardik to Lead in T20Is and Shikhar Dhawan to Lead in ODIs: 

Hardik Pandya is supposed to lead in the T20Is and Shikhar Dhawan is expected to lead in the ODIs. This move has been previously observed as a part of the workload management for the Indian team. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have consistently been on the road for the past 3 to 4 months. KL Rahul on the other hand could have been asked to play as his workload has been relatively low.  

Indian Cricket Team
Hardik’s captaincy prowess with the Gujarat Titans has bagged him an opportunity to lead the Indian Cricket Team. IMG SRC: NDTV Sports

Last time around, India was beaten 3-0 in the ODIs by New Zealand and managed to win 5-0 in the T20Is. The T20Is in New Zealand also featured 2 games that went to the super over. Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan are likely to be the opening pair in the T20Is as KL and Rohit have been rested. DK and R Ashwin are the other names that have been missed out. It seems that both of these players have been dropped.  

Indian Cricket Team for India Tour of New Zealand: 

T20I Team: 

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Rishabh Pant (Vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik 

ODI Team: 

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Rishabh Pant (Vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Ahmed, Washington Sundar, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Sen, Arshdeep Singh, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar. 

To know more go to The Rise of Suryakumar Yadav: 1st Indian to Score 1000 T20I Runs at Number 4 or Lower in a Year.

Read more such articles at ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Pakistan VS Netherlands Best Preview, Predictions, Playing XI, Venues, Timings. All You Need to Know.

To know more go to the official website of the BCCI.