IPL 2024 MI Squad, Captain, Released Players, Retention list | Mumbai Indians
IPL 2024 Mumbai Indians Squad, Captain | Image Credit: Twitter

IPL 2024 Mumbai Squad, Player list: Mumbai is the most successful franchise in the Indian Premier League. They won five IPL titles which is the most by any team.

This Season, Mumbai played outstanding cricket, they reached Qualifier-2 of the Tata IPL without having their main bowling attack. Mumbai finished the Tata IPL 2023 in the 3rd Spot. Many Young talented players from Mumbai impressed everyone this season with their exceptional performance.

The last time Mumbai won the IPL title was in 2020, due to the poor performance of key players. As a result, they didn’t win any title in the last four seasons of IPL. Next season, MI will try to grab another IPL title. They must buy good players in the next Auction, especially experienced bowlers.  

Why Mumbai failed in qualify-2 of IPL 2023:

In the IPL 2023, Rohit Sharma, the captain of MI, did not perform well this season. As a result, Mumbai Indians lost all their tough matches. Some key players of Mumbai who got injured during the IPL are Jofra Archer, Jasprit Bumrah, and Jhye Richardson.

Poor and inexperienced bowlers gave lots of runs in the final. As a result, Mumbai lost the match. One of the main reasons for MI’s struggles this season was the poor and inexperienced bowling unit.

In the 2023 auction, Mumbai bought good bowlers for their squad, but they missed the whole season due to severe Injury. Another key problem that MI faced this season was over-dependency on a few players.

Batting of MI is dependent on Suryakumar Yadav. In the next season, Mumbai will try to fix this problem and develop a better team to lift the IPL title. Mumbai Indians bought Jofra Archer as the main fast bowler in IPL 203, but he did not perform well this season and did not play the whole season, Jofra left Mumbai in mid of the season.

Furthermore, Jasprit Bumrah and Jhye Richardson withdrew their name from the IPL due to Injury. Mumbai will focus on finding a perfect bowling combination for the next season to tackle the challenges they faced in IPL 2023. 

Read This Also: WTC Final 2023: ICC confirms India and Australia’s first 15 & Standy Players for WTC Final 2023

Areas where MI needs to Improve:

Rohit Sharma: Mumbai Indians skipper’s performance in the last four IPL seasons was poor with both batting and captaincy. Under his captaincy, Mumbai won five titles, but in the last four seasons, MI was unable to reach playoffs due to poor captaincy and the poor batting form of Rohit Sharma.

In the next season, the team management of Mumbai came up with a good strategy to improve the performance of Rohit Sharma.

Bowling: Mumbai Indians had good bowlers like Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal, and Chris Jordan but needed other good options. Due to several injuries, Key players of Mumbai missed several matches this season.

Poor bowling performance in Qualifier-2 resulted in defeat against the Strong batting side of Gujarat. MI will try to buy other good-quality bowlers for the IPL next season.  

IPL 2024 MI Retention List (Expected):

Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kisan, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Arshad Khan, Hrithik Shokeen, Jason, Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal, Nehal Wadhera, Piyush Chawla, Cameron Green.

IPL 2024 MI Released Players list (expected):

Jofra Archer, Tristan Stubbs, Chris Jordan, Riley Meredith, Raghav Goyal, Arjun Tendulkar, Duan Jansen, Dewald Brevis, Sandeep Warrier. 

IPL 2024 MI Full Squad (Expected):

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kisan, Cameron Green, Tim David, Tilak Verma, Nehal Wadhera, Akash Madhwal, Jason Behrendorff, Piyush Chawla, Arshad Khan, Vishnu Vinod, Kumar Kartikeya, Jasprit Bumrah.

Read This Also: List of Player of the Match (POTM) in IPL Finals from 2008-2023

For More Check Official Site: IPLT20