Asian Games 2023 hockey schedule
Asian Games 2023 hockey schedule

Asian Games 2023 hockey schedule for Indian men’s team: The Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) and the Hangzhou 2023 Organizing Committee announced on Tuesday the full hockey schedule for the Asian Games 2023. The schedule comprises all of the Indian hockey teams’ games, both men’s and women’s.

On September 24, the Indian men’s hockey team will face Uzbekistan in Pool A at the Hangzhou Asian Games. On September 27, the Indian women’s hockey team will face Singapore in their first Pool A encounter.

For the 12-team men’s competition, India are in Pool A along with defending Asian Games champions Japan, arch-rivals Pakistan, neighbors Bangladesh, Singapore and Uzbekistan.  Men’s Pool B is made up of the Korean Republic, Malaysia, the People’s Republic of China, Oman, Thailand, and Indonesia.

Teams from both pools will face each other in a single-header round-robin format with the top two teams from each pool advancing to the semi-finals. The remaining teams play classification matches.

The much-awaited India vs Pakistan match in Asian Games 2023 is scheduled on 30 September. Indian men are the reigning Asian Games champions twice, while Pakistan have won gold a record eight times in the continental showpiece.

Click here to download the Asian Hockey 2023 Schedule Offline

Indian men’s hockey team captain Harmanpreet Singh said.

“We are placed along with some strong teams in our pool, including Japan, who won the gold medal at the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta. But we will treat all teams at par and will not be taking any competition lightly,” .

The Indian women’s hockey team, who won silver at the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta, has been assigned to Pool A, which includes Korea, Malaysia, Hong Kong, and Singapore.

 Defending champions Japan, along with hosts China, Thailand, Kazakhstan and Indonesia are the other teams in the competition and have been placed in Pool B.

The 10-team women’s tournament at the 2023 Hangzhou Games will follow the same format as the men’s competition.

Indian women’s team captain Savita Punia said.

“We are placed along with some strong teams in our pool. But we are confident that the work that we have done over the past year at the camp and training session will help us achieve good results in the competition,”

Indian men’s hockey team’s Asian Games schedule for 2023.

The Asian Games 2023, which will take place in Hangzhou, China, from September 23 to October 8, will also serve as a qualifying event for the Paris Olympics in 2024. The men’s and women’s continental winners will also receive a straight berth to next year’s Summer Games.

SundaySeptember 248:45 AMIndia vs Uzbekistan
TuesdaySeptember 266:30 AMIndia vs Singapore
ThursdaySeptember 286:15 PMIndia vs Japan
SaturdaySeptember 306:15 PMIndia vs Pakistan
MondayOctober 2 1:15 PMIndia vs Bangladesh
WednesdayOctober 47:45 AM11/12 and 9/10 classification matches and semi-finals
FridayOctober 67:45 AM7/8, 5/6 and 3/4 classification matches and final

Indian women’s hockey team’s Asian Games schedule for 2023.

WednesdaySeptember 2710:15 AMIndia vs Singapore
FridaySeptember 294:00 PMIndia vs Malaysia
SundayOctober 11:30 PMIndia vs Korea
TuesdayOctober 37:45 AMIndia vs Hong Kong
ThursdayOctober 511:00 AM9/10 classification matches and semi-finals
SaturdayOctober 77:45 AM7/8, 5/6 and 3/4 classification matches and final

Asian Games men’s and Women’s hockey winners List:

Men’s Team:

EditionGold MedalSilver MedalBronze
Tokyo 1958PakistanIndiaSouth Korea
Jakarta 1962PakistanIndiaMalaysia
Bangkok 1966IndiaPakistanJapan
Bangkok 1970PakistanIndiaJapan
Tehran 1974PakistanIndiaMalaysia
Bangkok 1978PakistanIndiaMalaysia
New Delhi 1982PakistanIndiaMalaysia
Seoul 1986South KoreaPakistanIndia
Beijing 1990PakistanIndiaMalaysia
Hiroshima 1994South KoreaIndiaPakistan
Bangkok 1998IndiaSouth KoreaPakistan
Busan 2002South KoreaIndiaMalaysia
Doha 2006South KoreaChinaPakistan
Guangzhou 2010PakistanMalaysiaIndia
Incheon 2014IndiaPakistanSouth Korea
Jakarta 2018JapanMalaysiaIndia

Womens Team:-

Edition (hosts)Gold MedalSilver MedalBronze
New Delhi 1982IndiaSouth KoreaMalaysia
Seoul 1986South KoreaJapanIndia
Beijing 1990South KoreaChinaJapan
Hiroshima 1994South KoreaJapanChina
Bangkok 1998South KoreaIndiaChina
Busan 2002ChinaSouth KoreaJapan
Doha 2006ChinaJapanIndia
Guangzhou 2010ChinaSouth KoreaJapan
Incheon 2014South KoreaChinaIndia
Jakarta 2018JapanIndiaChina
Hangzhou 2022

Also Read: India’s tour to Ireland: Ireland has announced their T20I Squads against the India series.