India’s tour to Ireland
India’s tour to Ireland

India’s tour to Ireland: Ireland has announced their T20I Squads against the India series: Ireland has named a 15-members men’s squads to face India in a three-match Twenty20 International series beginning on August 18. The series against India, the top-ranked side in the MRF Tyres ICC T20I Men’s side Rankings, will be Ireland’s first T20I action after qualifying for the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

The group is mostly made up of players who participated in the victorious World Cup qualifying campaign last month. There are some significant additions, including as the comeback of Leinster Lightning all-rounder Fionn Hand and the return of Gareth Delany, who was rehabilitating from a wrist injury suffered in Zimbabwe in June.

Andrew White, Ireland Men’s national selector, said.

“The recent qualifying campaign in Scotland was the first stage of our strategic planning for next June’s T20 World Cup,”

“We currently have around 15 T20 Internationals scheduled between now and the World Cup, so it is important that we use each of these to continue to build on areas that the coaching team have identified.

“We only have a limited time between now and the end of the 2023 domestic season, so it’s also crucial that we use what opportunities we have to provide exposure and experience to a pool of players who we believe are in contention for making that World Cup squad.

He also emphasised the need of providing exposure and experience to a pool of players being evaluated for the World Cup selection, given the short time between now and the end of the domestic season in 2023.

“I would expect that all of the 15 players named in the India series squad will feature at some point,” White said.

Ireland T20I squad Against India

Ireland: Paul Stirling (c), Andrew Balbirnie, Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Fionn Hand, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Theo van Woerkom, Ben White, Craig Young.

Schedule for India’s tour to Ireland

Date & TimeTeamMatch
18 August 3:00PMIreland Men v India Men1st T20I
20 August 3:00 PMIreland Men v India Men2nd T20I
23 August 3:00 PMIreland Men v India Men3rd T20I

Also Read: ICC Men’s ODI Players Ranking after IND vs WI ODI series 2023, Virat Kohli is now at lowest ranking after last 10 Years