World Cup 2023: Sri Lanka's Wanindu Hasaranga Ruled Out from ICC Men's ODI World Cup 2023
Sri Lanka

World Cup 2023: Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga Ruled Out from ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: On September 24, 2024, the Sri Lankan Cricket Board confirmed that Wanindu Hasaranga was ruled out from World Cup due to serious injury. Sri Lanka Cricket has confirmed Wanindu Hasaranga’s participation in the ODI World Cup 2023.

The Spin All-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga of Sri Lanka was ruled out from World Cup 2023 due to a hamstring injury. A Bad news for Sri Lanka as their key All-rounder ruled out from the ODI World Cup. According to, Hasaranga won’t be able to play in the important tournament in India because of an injury.

He also missed the recent Asia Cup due to injury. Hasaranga got injured while playing in the Lanka Premier League for B Kandy Love. The Sri Lanka team has four days left to announce the final World Cup 2023 squad.

Sri Lanka has not announced their provisional squad for the World Cup 2023. In the Absence of Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana will lead the Spin department of the Sri Lanka team in the World Cup with the support of Dunith Wellalage, Dhananjaya de Silva, and Charith Asalanka.

Wanindu Hasaranga, with his experience and knowledge of Indian conditions and pitches, was a valuable asset for Sri Lanka. Spinners play a crucial role in the World Cup 2023 as Indian conditions supports will them, and Sri Lanka could be a strong contender.

Sri Lanka will play their World Cup campaign against New Zealand on October 7, 2023, at Arun Jaitley Cricket Stadium, Delhi.

Dasun Shanka is going to lead the Sri Lanka team in the ODI World Cup 2023. To begin their campaign, Sri Lanka will play a warm-up match against Pakistan on September 29, 2023. 

The Key players of Sri Lanka in the World Cup are Captain Dasun Shanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, and Kusal Mendis. Sri Lanka will play against India on November 2, 2023 at Wankhede Stadium. 

Sri Lanka Probable squad for ICC World Cup 2023:

Dasun Shanaka (C), Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera, Dimuth Karunaratne, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis (Wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama (Wk), Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Dushmantha Chameera, Pramod Madushan, Lahiru Kumara.

Read This Also: ICC Men’s U19 ODI World Cup 2024 Schedule, Fixtures, Venues, Format, Team List, Check The Full Details

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC