Ravichandran Ashwin
IND vs ENG 3rd Test Day4

The classic version of this popular game, test cricket, continues to draw followers to this day. A normal five-day Test match contains for two innings for each team.

The majority of fans, particularly the younger ones, find test matches to be highly eventful and slow. Nonetheless, this is how cricket was originally played, and the traditional rules of the “gentleman’s game” still apply.

Test matches are not like Twenty20 or One Day International (ODI) matches at all. It’s a red-ball game that puts more emphasis on skillful play than pure entertainment.

Although slip fielding is uncommon in Twenty20 matches, it is essential in Test matches since the bowling side concentrates all of their attention on the wicket.
Pitches and field configurations that favor bowlers also allow for feats of taking 8, 9, and 10 wickets in an innings. The list of players who have taken the most wickets in Test cricket will be discussed today.

Also read: ICC WTC Points Table 2024, New Zealand Surpassed India Updated After NZ vs SA 2nd Test 2024 | ICC World Test Championship Standings 2024

In Test cricket, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shane Warne, and James Anderson are the top three bowlers in terms of wickets taken. As India’s leading off-spinner, Ravichandran Ashwin created history by becoming the second Indian bowler to take 500 Test wickets.

Ashwin achieved this feat in the current third Test match against England. Ravichandran Ashwin, the top off-spinner for India, became just the second Indian and the ninth person in history to take 500 wickets in a Test match on Friday.

Ashwin became only the second Indian after the great Anil Kumble took 500 Test wickets as he reached the milestone during the third Test match against England in Rajkot.

Before the third Test began, Ashwin only needed one wicket to achieve 500. The off-spinner accomplished the feat in England’s opening inning when he bowled Zak Crawley for 15.

As Zak Crawley tried to sweep from the outside leg, he went over the top edge. Ashwin became just the second Indian player to achieve this remarkable feat as his teammates gathered around him to congratulate him. Of course, this is a time to celebrate.

Muttiah Muralitharan800
Shane Warne708
James Anderson695
Anil Kumble619
Stuart Broad604
Glenn McGrath563
Courtney Walsh519
Nathan Lyon517
Ravichandran Ashwin500
Dale Steyn439

Also read: Rizwan Javed banned from all cricket for breaching ICC Anti-Corruption Code

For details, visitICC