The TATA IPL 2023 season is around the corner. The fact of the matter is that this season brings with it a whole new sense of excitement. We have witnessed some of the best batters in the league at work. We have seen the likes of Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar and Ricky Ponting walking out to bat together, We have also seen Hayden and Gilchrist. Add to that the class of Yuvraj Singh and the calmness of MSD. The IPL has witnessed all these batters in their full glory. But who are the top 5 batters to ever play in the league? This list takes into account the impact that these players have had, rather than just the top five run-getters in TATA IPL history. 

Suresh Raina is One of the Best Batters in the History of the TATA IPL: 

Suresh Raina was the face of the Chennai Super Kings for a very long time. He at one time had the record for playing the most games for the Super Kings in the presence of MS Dhoni. One can never forget his innings in the 2013 IPL season where he scored 89 runs in 25 balls. There is a reason why Raina was called Mr. IPL, and this is exactly why. He took the CSK team to 4 IPL trophies. His innings resulted in Parwinder Awana’s career getting ruined. Here is a look at Raina’s stats: 

Matches 205
Innings 200 
Runs 5528
Average 32.4
Strike Rate 136.7
Best  100*

David Warner is One of the Best Batters in the History of the TATA IPL: 

David-warner TATA IPL
David-warner (Source_India TV)

David Warner has won the orange cap three times. And each of those times he was representing the Sunrisers Hyderabad. He took the SRH team to a championship victory in 2016. Hence we can say that Warner and his batting have had an immense impact on the tournament. He was the face of the Sunrisers Hyderabad. The fans and the people of Hyderabad addressed Warner as a family member. Batting at a strike rate of 143 and having an average of 42 is simply remarkable. 

AB De Villiers is One of the Best Batters in the History of the TATA IPL: 

AB De Villiers TATA IPL
At times ABD went Beast Mode!!

AB De Villiers bought his 360-degree style to the IPL. He was mighty impressive in every season he played. When we talk about De Villiers, we are bound to think about RCB but his performance for the Delhi Daredevils was great too. He smoked a hundred while playing for them. AB’s potential is very well-known, and one cannot easily forget him dominating a prime Dale Steyn and scoring 28 runs in his one over in 2014. AB De Villiers’ talent was simply unmatched. His work ethic was great too and hence he was inducted into the RCB hall of fame. Here is a look at his stats: 

Matches 184
Innings 175
Runs 5162
Average 39.4
Strike Rate 151.7
Best 129

Chris Gayle is One of the Best Batters in the History of the TATA IPL: 

Chris Gayle TATA IPL

Chris Gayle has to be on this list. He has won the orange cap twice in two consecutive years. It was pure dominance in those two years. In 2011 and 2012, the world witnessed the arrival of the Universe Boss. He was hitting sixes for fun. He was giving the domestic Indian bowlers a taste of international cricket. His 175 runs at the Chinnaswamy Stadium against the PWI is still a record to be broken and I doubt it ever will be broken! That evening was a treat to every cricket fan. Gayle has also scored 6 hundred in the IPL. It is a long-standing record. Christopher is also a part of the RCB “Hall of Fame” alongside AB De Villiers.  

Honorable Mention: 

  1. Virat Kohli 
  1. Rohit Sharma 
  1. KL Rahul 

Kieron Pollard/MS Dhoni is One of the Best Batters in the History of the TATA IPL: 

Kieron Pollard and MS Dhoni might not have the big runs, but they are on the list because of two reasons. These were match-winning players and were the best finishers in their prime. Kieron Pollard has single-handedly won 3 IPL finals for the Mumbai Indians. He was their best batter on multiple occasions. His innings in 2019 against the Punjab Kings can never be forgotten. He scored 80 odd runs in 30 balls. MS Dhoni on the other hand was at times the lone warrior for the Chennai Super Kings. He was also the one who led them to 4 titles. 

To know more go to Prithvi Shaw Incident 2023: Influencer Seeks a Police Complaint For “Outraging Her Modesty.”

Read more such articles at India VS Australia: Indian Squad for Last 2 Tests and 3 ODIs Announced. Rohit Set to Miss 1st ODI. All You Need to Know.

To know more go to the official website of the BCCI.