Pakistan spinner Noman Ali
Pakistan spinner Noman Ali

Pakistan’s spin bowler Noman Ali out of Australia series: The list of absent players in Pakistan’s bowling lineup continues to grow, with Noman Ali ruled out of the Australia series due to acute appendicitis.

The official statement from Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) informed that Noman has undergone successful laparoscopic appendectomy, and he is currently stable and recovering well, expected to be discharged soon.

The National Selection Committee has nominated Mohammad Nawaz in his place. Nawaz, who is part of the 17-member squad for the New Zealand T20Is, will now fly to Australia first to join the Test squad.

Also Read: ICC Men’s ODI Team Rankings [Rank 1 to 10] Updated After India vs. South Africa 2nd ODI 2023 | ICC ODI Team Standings 

The absence of Noman, who was initially included in the squad as Abrar Ahmed’s backup spinner, increased Pakistan’s bowling challenges, especially as Abrar had already been ruled out due to injury. Sajid Khan was brought in as a replacement, although his arrival in Perth was too late to take part in the first Test.

Earlier in the week, it was reported that Khurram Shazad had complained of pain in his left side in Perth and scans revealed that the right-hander had suffered stress fractures in his ribs and a torn abdominal muscle.

With the second Test against Australia starting on December 26 at the MCG, Pakistan is facing challenges in its bowling department.

Unavailability of key fast bowlers including Khurram Shahzad due to stress fracture and Naseem Shah is recovering from injury.

With Haris Rauf out, debutants Aamir Jamal and Shehzad have been included in the fast bowling lineup along with Mir Hamza, Hasan Ali and Mohammad Wasim Jr.

The Boxing Day Test poses a serious challenge for Pakistan as they look for crucial ICC World Test Championship points in Melbourne.

Pakistan Squads for Australia Series:

Squad: Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC

Also Read:2024 IPL Auction: CSK CEO said, ‘Whatever players Dhoni wanted, we bought them’