India Announces Test Team for 2 Match Series Against NZ.

Here is a look at India's latest white-ball team.

Here is a look at who has been picked and who has been rested.

The Indian Cricket Team for the 2-Match Test Home Series against New Zealand was announced on Friday. The major development is that Virat Kohli is going to lead the team from the second test onwards. The captaincy for the first test is handed to deputy Ajinkya Rahane. Rohit Sharma, the veteran batsman and the current captain of the T20 Indian Cricket Team is rested for this series. Another important update is that Hanuma Vihari, India’s blue-chip stock for overseas tours has been dropped. Here is a look at the squad: – 

Indian Cricket Team for New Zealand Test Series: – 

A Rahane (C), C Pujara (VC), KL Rahul, M Agarwal, S Gill, S Iyer, W Saha (WK), KS Bharat (WK), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, A Patel, J Yadav, I Sharma, U Yadav, Md Siraj, P Krishna  

*Virat Kohli will join the squad for the 2nd Test and will lead the team. 

Virat Kohli Rested for First Test and Rohit Sharma Rested for Entire Series: – 

Senior Batsmen Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will not feature in the first match.

The biggest updates from the chosen team are that Virat Kohli will join and lead the team from the 2nd Test. Virat Kohli has been on the road since the WTC and has been continually in the bio bubble environment. So, to give him recovery time and time with family, the decision to rest him has been taken. Rohit Sharma, who has had a similar schedule to Virat will be leading the T20I team in the 3-Match Series. He too has been rested completely for the test series. Senior players such as Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, and Rishabh Pant have also been awarded a much-needed break.  

Hanuma Vihari Dropped and Shreyas Iyer Picked: – 

The biggest exclusion from the team was that of Hanuma Vihari. Hanuma when played his last inning for the nation, it was his fighting innings in Sydney to save the 3rd Test. Most cricket analysts expressed their negative opinion on dropping a senior member of the team, even without giving him chances. Later an update from the BCCI was given that Hanuma is included in India A squad which will travel to South Africa. He will be grooming middle-order batsmen.  

The exclusion of Hanuma Vihari is the biggest point of concern.

Shreyas Iyer has been picked for the red-ball team. He has been out of this circuit for 2 and a half years. However, considering his consistent and classy batting in the white-ball formats for the national team and Delhi Capitals, he has been rewarded.  

Fresh Faces in Indian Cricket Team: – 

There are also a few fresh faces on the team. The line-up of the 15 members includes Kona Bharat, the wicket-keeper. KS Bharat has been dominating, the domestic circuit for over 3 years and the absence of Rishabh Pant eventually meant his selection. Prasidh Krishna and left-arm spinner Jayant Yadav have been picked.