Celebration for Siraj: Indian pacer Siraj is crowned No.1 ODI bowler

md siraj ranking
md siraj ranking
Celebration for Siraj: India pacer Mohammed Siraj has capped an impressive 12 months by claiming the No. 1 spot in the MRF Tires ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings for bowlers from New Zealand seamer Trent Boult.

It is a remarkable rise for Siraj, who returned to India’s ODI squad in February last year after a gap of three years without playing a 50-over match at the international level.

Since then Siraj has collected 37 wickets in 20 matches to be one of India’s most consistent fast bowlers and accolades have started to pile up for the under 28-year-old.

On Tuesday, Siraj was named in the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year and on Wednesday the right-handed batsman had another reason to celebrate as he surpassed Boult and Australia seamer Josh Hazlewood to become the top-ranked ODI batsman for the first time. Became a bowler. ,

Not only has Siraj’s form been impressive over the last 12 months, but his efforts in the ODI series at home against Sri Lanka and New Zealand earlier this month have shown how much the right-handed batsman has improved in recent times.

India bowling coach Paras Mhambrey challenged Siraj to work on certain aspects of his game in the middle of last year and the extra training the dynamic pacer has put in has paid off with his recent performances.

Siraj was the leading wicket-taker for the three-match series against Sri Lanka and claimed four wickets in the opening match of the recently concluded series against New Zealand.

This means Siraj has risen to the top of the ODI bowlers rankings with 729 rating points, albeit narrowly, as his lead over Hazlewood at the top is just two rating points higher than the Australian.

Celebration for Siraj
Celebration for Siraj

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma was full of praise for Siraj when asked about the emerging star following the series whitewash over New Zealand.

“He has done really well, he understands what the team is expecting from him,” Rohit said.

“To come and take the new ball, swing the ball, get early wickets. In the middle overs too, he’s got so much skill.

“The more he plays, the better he gets.”

Fellow India pacer Mohammed Shami jumps 11 places to 32nd overall on the updated list for ODI bowlers, while there is plenty of movement at the top of the batter rankings following the completion of India’s home series against the Kiwis.

MRF Men’s ODI Bowling Rankings

1Mohammed Siraj IND729736 v New Zealand, 21/01/2023
2Josh Hazlewood AUS727733 v England, 26/01/2018
3Trent Boult NZ708775 v Australia, 11/09/2022
4Mitchell Starc AUS665783 v New Zealand, 29/03/2015
5Rashid Khan AFG659806 v Pakistan, 21/09/2018
6Adam Zampa AUS655655 v England, 22/11/2022
7Shakib Al Hasan BAN652717 v Zimbabwe, 05/11/2009
8Shaheen Afridi PAK641688 v West Indies, 10/06/2022
9Mustafizur Rahman BAN638695 v West Indies, 14/12/2018
10Mujeeb Ur Rahman AFG637712 v Ireland, 24/01/2021
11Chris Woakes ENG632711 v Sri Lanka, 04/07/2021
12Mohammad Nabi AFG631657 v Zimbabwe, 09/06/2022
13Mehedi Hasan BAN631725 v Sri Lanka, 25/05/2021
14Kagiso Rabada SA629724 v England, 29/05/2017
15Matt Henry NZ624691 v Bangladesh, 26/03/2021
16Pat Cummins AUS615729 v Pakistan, 12/06/2019
17Andy McBrine IRE613646 v West Indies, 16/01/2022
18Alzarri Joseph WI609623 v New Zealand, 17/08/2022
19Mark Watt SCO594594 v Nepal, 08/12/2022
20Kuldeep Yadav IND594765 v New Zealand, 26/01/2019
21Lungi Ngidi SA577621 v Australia, 04/03/2020
22Akeal Hosein WI573577 v New Zealand, 19/08/2022
23Wanindu Hasaranga SL571571 v India, 12/01/2023
24Jasprit Bumrah IND569841 v West Indies, 01/11/2018
25David Willey ENG553569 v South Africa, 24/07/2022
26Keshav Maharaj SA553567 v India, 06/10/2022
27Mitchell Santner NZ552663 v England, 25/02/2018
28Mohammad Nawaz PAK549549 v New Zealand, 13/01/2023
29Saurabh Netravalkar USA537545 v Papua New Guinea, 22/11/2022
30Bernard Scholtz NAM535535 v Nepal, 07/12/2022
31Tabraiz Shamsi SA535597 v Bangladesh, 20/03/2022
32Mohammad Shami IND533654 v Bangladesh, 19/03/2015
33Joshua Little IRE532533 v Zimbabwe, 21/01/2023
34Bilal Khan OMA532545 v United States, 12/06/2022
35Shardul Thakur IND527528 v Bangladesh, 10/12/2022
36Mark Wood ENG526615 v Afghanistan, 18/06/2019
37Tim Southee NZ522638 v England, 20/02/2015
38Shadab Khan PAK520607 v South Africa, 22/01/2019
39Yuzvendra Chahal IND518730 v New Zealand, 23/01/2019
40Ahmed Raza UAE514562 v Papua New Guinea, 15/03/2022
41Akila Dananjaya SL514651 v England, 23/10/2018
42Lachlan Ferguson NZ510668 v West Indies, 22/06/2019
43Dushmantha Chameera SL506552 v Australia, 16/06/2022
44Adil Rashid ENG504687 v Sri Lanka, 20/10/2018
45Sandeep Lamichhane NEP498540 v Namibia, 16/07/2022
46Rohan Mustafa UAE483496 v Namibia, 08/03/2022
47Simi Singh IRE478507 v Zimbabwe, 13/09/2021
48Zeeshan Maqsood OMA478478 v United States, 12/06/2022
49Taskin Ahmed BAN476528 v West Indies, 10/07/2022
50Dhananjaya de Silva SL474479 v India, 12/01/2023
51Dwaine Pretorius SA471539 v Australia, 06/07/2019
52Safyaan Sharif SCO470542 v England, 10/06/2018
53Nosthush Kenjige USA469476 v Papua New Guinea, 22/11/2022
54Chad Soper PNG469483 v United States, 13/09/2022
55Jason Holder WI464486 v Sri Lanka, 10/03/2021
56Kaleemullah OMA462476 v Papua New Guinea, 16/04/2022
57Mark Adair IRE460460 v Zimbabwe, 23/01/2023
58Bhuvneshwar Kumar IND460657 v West Indies, 17/10/2014
59Blessing Muzarabani ZIM456515 v Afghanistan, 09/06/2022
60Taijul Islam BAN455469 v Zimbabwe, 10/08/2022
61Sheldon Cottrell WI452581 v Sri Lanka, 26/02/2020
62Anrich Nortje SA450459 v England, 22/07/2022
63Haris Rauf PAK449484 v Netherlands, 18/08/2022
64Craig Young IRE448470 v West Indies, 16/01/2022
65Ish Sodhi NZ441509 v Netherlands, 04/04/2022
66Imad Wasim PAK439570 v England, 19/05/2019
67Andile Phehlukwayo SA438613 v Pakistan, 30/01/2019
68Hasan Ali PAK436766 v New Zealand, 06/01/2018
69Reece Topley ENG436468 v South Africa, 22/07/2022
70Maheesh Theekshana SL435450 v Afghanistan, 27/11/2022
71Hamza Tahir SCO434484 v Nepal, 17/07/2022
72Jhye Richardson AUS434548 v Pakistan, 24/03/2019
73Zahoor Khan UAE434434 v Nepal, 18/11/2022
74Fred Klaassen NED433458 v New Zealand, 04/04/2022
75Moeen Ali ENG432629 v Australia, 24/06/2018
76Colin de Grandhomme NZ432523 v Netherlands, 04/04/2022
77Richard Ngarava ZIM426435 v Ireland, 21/01/2023
78Assad Vala PNG426426 v United States, 25/11/2022
79Ravindra Jadeja IND422738 v Zimbabwe, 01/08/2013
80Hardik Pandya IND420552 v South Africa, 16/02/2018
81Sikandar Raza ZIM420494 v UAE, 16/04/2019
82J.J. Smit NAM418418 v Nepal, 07/12/2022
83Tendai Chatara ZIM417562 v Ireland, 07/03/2015
84Steven Taylor USA416424 v Papua New Guinea, 25/11/2022
85Ashton Agar AUS416456 v Sri Lanka, 14/06/2022
86Mohammad Mohammad Saifuddin BAN415496 v West Indies, 25/01/2021
87Ruben Trumpelmann NAM409420 v Scotland, 05/12/2022
88Christopher Sole SCO409409 v Nepal, 08/12/2022
89Michael Leask SCO409432 v United States, 17/08/2022
90M. Prasidh Krishna IND407481 v West Indies, 11/02/2022
91Nuwan Pradeep SL407506 v England, 13/10/2018
92Wayne Parnell SA405550 v West Indies, 28/01/2015
93Wahab Riaz PAK403522 v England, 13/11/2015
94Saqib Mahmood ENG402454 v Pakistan, 13/07/2021
95Fazalhaq Farooqi AFG400421 v Sri Lanka, 25/11/2022
96Faheem Ashraf PAK400477 v South Africa, 02/04/2021
97Khawar Ali OMA398401 v Nepal, 09/06/2022
98Sean Abbott AUS397398 v New Zealand, 11/09/2022
99Mitchell Marsh AUS396511 v New Zealand, 04/12/2016
100Jan Frylinck NAM395442 v Papua New Guinea, 20/09/2022

Also Read:IND vs NZ 3rd ODI: India vs New Zealand 3rd ODI Highlights