Senior Sri Lankan player returns to team after three years | Updated Squad T20I series against Zimbabwe and Schedule

angelo mathews
angelo mathews

Senior Sri Lankan player returns to team after three years | Updated Squad T20I series against Zimbabwe and Schedule: The year 2024 has just begun and the stage of cricket game is being organized in different countries among all the countries.

Now in this shorter format of the cricket game, Sri Lanka has announced its 16-member T20I squad for the home series against Zimbabwe, which sees the return of their veteran player Mathews, who last played T20I in 2021.

With the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup around the corner, Mathews has added experience to Sri Lanka’s T20 squad, which Hasaranga will lead for the first time.

Mathews, who was called as India’s replacement for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, is part of a strong batting group that also includes vice-captain Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Sadira Samarawickrama and Pathum Nissanka. Subject to fitness.

The team also has all-rounders in abundance with Dhananjay de Silva and Mathews along with Dasun Shanaka, Hasaranga, and Kamindu Mendis.

Dilshan Madushanka and Dushmantha Chameera lead the pace attack which also features the exciting Nuwan Thushara and Mathisha Pathirana. Hasaranga is joined in the spin department by Akila Dhananjay, who, like Mathews, last played a T20 match in 2021. The series will start on January 14 and all three matches will be played in Colombo.

Sri Lanka T20I Updated Squads against Zimbabwe

SL squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Janith Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Pathum Nissanka (subject to fitness), Maheesh Theekshana, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwan Thushara, Akila Dananjaya.

Zimbabwe vs Sri Lanka T20I Schedule

Serise Team Date Time Venue
1st T20i Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe 14th January 2024 19:00 RPICS, Colombo
2nd T20i Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe 16th January 2024 19:00 RPICS, Colombo
3rd T20i Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe 18th January 2024 Series RPICS, Colombo

Also read: RR Squad, Captain IPL 2024: Rajasthan Royals Players List After Auction, Retained Players, Overseas Players-All You Need To Know

For More, updates Check The Official Site: ICC