Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah among Player of the Month nominees after India's ICC T20 World Cup 2024 triumph
Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah

It has been a dream since last month for Team India, as they went on to break the ICC trophy drought of 11 years and finally go on to win an ICC title. Rohit Sharma led the team to the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, defeating South Africa in the final game in Barbados. With this, India lifted their second World T20 title. Jasprit Bumrah was the ace player.

The pacer won the Player of the Tournament award and bowled an exceptional spell in the final. It was an excellent effort from the whole team, and they lifted the cup without losing a game. This was also the first time that a team won the World T20 title without losing a game. Hence, Rohit became the fourth Indian captain to win an ICC event.

Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah among the nominees for the Player of the Month award

It has been a dream-come-true moment for Team India and the players. Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah have been rewarded by their consistent performances throughout the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed three nominees for the Player of the Month award for June, and Rohit and Bumrah are among them. The third name is Afghanistan’s opener, Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

The Indian captain Rohit Sharma ended the tournament as the second-highest run scorer. He scored 257 runs in 8 matches at an average of 36.71 and a strike rate of 156.70. The Indian captain scored three half-centuries, and his highest of 92 came against Australia. On the other hand, Bumrah was the second-highest wicket-taker in the tournament.

He took 15 wickets in 8 innings at an incredible economy rate of 4.17. The pacer had the best economy rate in the tournament among the teams that made it to the Super 8. Adding to that, the World Cup winning team reached India on Thursday from Barbados and went on for a winning parade at Marine Drive in Mumbai.

The team met PM Narendra Modi, and they went to Mumbai for the winning parade and celebration at Wankhede Stadium. Fans gathered in large numbers to welcome the team, and the scenes were incredible. As per the forecast, there is a passing shower in Mumbai, but even the rain can’t stop the Indian fans from showing their love for the Rohit Sharma and his team.

Also Read: Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL 2024): Schedule, Squads, Venues & Live Streaming Details & More