Jasprit Bumrah beats Rohit and Gurbaz to win the ICC Player of the Month Award after his T20 WC heroics
Jasprit Bumrah ICC Image

It’s been just ten days since India won the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 title in West Indies, beating South Africa in the final. Jasprit Bumrah was rewarded for his excellent performance throughout the competition and won the Player of the Tournament award. And now, he has bagged yet another ICC award. It won’t be a wrong statement to say that Bumrah was India’s main man during the tournament and performed consistently against all teams.

Even in the final, he took 2/18 in his four overs, and his last two overs went for just six runs when South Africa needed 30 off 30 balls to win. That’s what brought India back to the game, and they pulled off the win. Overall, Jasprit Bumrah took 15 wickets in 8 innings at an incredible economy rate of 4.17. He had the best economy rate among the other bowlers in the tournament.

Jasprit Bumrah wins the ICC Player of the Month Award for June

The ace pacer was at his absolute best in the T20 World Cup 2024. Not just this tournament, he has been consistent across formats for India since his return from injury last year. He has taken his performance to new heights. His performances helped India end their ICC trophy drought. That performance has also helped him bag an ICC award.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) nominated Jasprit Bumrah, Rohit Sharma, and Rahmnullah Gurbaz as the nominees for the Player of the Month award for June, and it was the Indian pacer that won the award. Rohit and Gurbaz also played well.

After winning the award, Bumrah dedicated it to his family and lauded the other two nominees. He said, “I am delighted to be named the ICC Men’s Player of the Month for June. It’s a special honour for me. I wish to congratulate my captain, Rohit Sharma, and Rahmanullah Gurbaz for their excellent performances. Finally, I want to thank my family and all of my teammates and coaches, as well.”

Gurbaz ended the T20 World Cup 2024 as the top scorer with 281 runs, while Rohit scored 257 runs. Jasprit Bumrah also won two consecutive POTM awards during the tournament against Ireland and Pakistan. On the other hand, India’s opener, Smiriti Mandhana, won the Player of the Month award in women’s cricket.

Also Read: Champions Trophy 2025 Schedule: ICC approves Pakistan Proposed Schedule; India to face Bangladesh in opening game – Report