IPL 2023: RR vs GT – Head to Head, Memorable Matches and Interesting Stats

RR vs GT

RR vs GT: The Gujarat Titans are among the two franchises in the narrative of the tournament to win the title in their debut year, while on the other hand, the Royals have kept a long-lasting legacy of over 15 years and won the title in the inaugural year of the IPL. In 2022, the Royals faced the Titans three times in a single season. 

RR vs GT: Head to Head

The Royals have been part of the prestigious T20 platform for 15 seasons and are now in their 16th year of the league. However, GT made their debut in 2022 and has already made an immense fanbase for itself with its impact on the IPL in 2022. 

Both teams have encountered each other three times (three RR vs GT matches so far only) in the IPL, with GT winning all three matches, one of which was last year’s qualifier and final. 

2022Gujarat Titans won by 37 runs
Gujarat Titans won by 7 wickets
Gujarat Titans won by 7 wickets

RR vs GT: Most memorable matches 

On Sunday’s second match, the teams that are already dominating the league with three wins encounter each other. Let’s take a look at a few glimpses from the top-notch encounters between GT and RR, a group match alongside two playoffs, and all going in GT’s favor.   

  • The first encounter between these 2 franchises went on to be intriguing combat the 2 teams on the 14th of April 2022, when batting first GT posted a challenging total of 192 runs courtesy of the sublime innings of Indian all-rounder and GT’s skipper Hardik Pandya’s intense innings of 87 runs and sweet little cameos from Abhinav Manohar and David Miller and in return, Royals started firmly with Buttler accelerating the innings at the top of the order but after his fall the entire middle and lower order collapsed miserably, solely led by speed gun Lockie Ferguson and prolific young Indian Yash Dayal. Hardik Pandya was chosen as the MOM for his stunning knock. 
  • The next most thrilling encounter between the two franchises was held on 24th May 2022 as they faced each other in Qualifier 1, and the match was won by GT in a highly dominating contest which was won with the batting antics of skipper Pandya and blistering innings of 68 by David Miller, while on the other end, Royals batters had also delivered much to their peaks as they put on a big total of 188. 
  • The Titans continued their sensational performance in the finals and faced RR on the 29th of April, while GT put on huge pressure and restricted them to just 130 with skipper Pandya stepping forward for the Titans. Though they didn’t have much to defend the Royals tried with all their might to resist the Titans but Miller once again fired with the bat to take GT across the line to lift their debut IPL title. 

RR vs GT: Interesting Facts 


  • 2ND team to win the title in the year of their debut. 


  • Highest successful run chase against PBKS in 2020. 
  • Fewest defeats in a season – just 3 in 2008
  • Shane Warne is the only captain-coach to win the IPL title in history. 

Also Read:- IPL 2023: PBKS Won by 2 Wickets, Sikandar Raza Scored His First Fifty in the TATA IPL