Img subjected to copyright.

The TATA IPL 2022 has begun. Umesh Yadav was exquisite in the game against the Chennai Super Kings. The bowler from Nagpur got two early wickets and the team never seemed to recover from then on. Coming to the leadership part. Shreyas Iyer was excellent with the bowling changes and field placements. Over the years the IPL has seen some amazing captains. Many players are making their debut as a captain this season. Mayank Agarwal, Faf Du Plessis, Hardik Pandya, and Ravindra Jadeja will be having butterflies in their stomach. Here is a look at the 5 most successful captains based on the number of trophies won in the IPL: 

1)Rohit Sharma will Captain Mumbai Indians in IPL 2022: 

Rohit Sharma, the boy from Bombay is going to lead the franchise this season too. The 34-year-old is the most successful captain in the history of the IPL. Under his amazing leadership, Mumbai Indians have won 5 IPL trophies. Rohit was made the captain of the franchise at times of turmoil. Ricky Ponting was sacked from the team and Rohit stepped in to fill the big shoes. The 26-year-old boy (back then) did a stupendous job with the team. Under Rohit Sharma’s leadership, Mumbai has produced gems like Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Markande, Marco Jansen, and many more. Rohit joined the franchise back in 2011 and since then has become synonymous with the franchise.  

A look at the legacy of Rohit Sharma. IMG SRC: MI Twitter Account.

2) MS Dhoni will not be CSK Captain in IPL 2022: 

MS Dhoni is the face of CSK. The brand value that MSD brings to the IPL is immense. Fans love to see “Thala” on the field. His presence gets the fans excited. The boy from Ranchi has found a home in the hearts of the Chennai people. He first associated with the franchise in the inaugural season of the IPL and the rest of history. MSD has made sure that CSK wins the IPL Trophy 4 times. Apart from that CSK team has qualified for the playoffs almost every season. MS Dhoni has a win percentage of 59.6. Under MSD India has got amazing players like Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey, Deepak Chahar, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Ravindra Jadeja. 

3) Gautam Gambhir: 

Gautam Gambhir is one of the greatest tacticians in the history of the sport. Gambhir was the best captain that KKR had. Kolkata picked Gautam Gambhir for the highest price in the 2010 season. He was promoted to the leadership role in the first season itself. Gambhir won the cup for KKR twice. It was once in 2012 and once in 2014. Gambhir picked this franchise up from tatters. The KKR team was struggling in the first two seasons. It was marred by poor management and frequently changing captaincy. Gambhir came in and gave them a sense of stability. Under Gambhir, players like L Balaji, Robbie Uthappa, and Manish Pandey found their prime.  

4) David Warner/Shane Warne: 

Shane Warne was a true leader. He called Ravindra Jadeja a Superstar. IMG SRC: TOI.

David Warner was different gravy in the IPL 2016 season. He and Shane Warne are tied at number 4 on this list. Warner fought against the odds and almost single-handedly won the league for the Sunrisers Hyderabad. The same was the story of the Rajasthan Royals in the first season. The Sunrisers at least had the presence of a few good players like Bhuvi and Shikhar Dhawan. But Rajasthan Royals was disregarded in the inaugural season. Shane Warne found superstars like Siddhart Trivedi, Swapnil Asnodkar, and Yusuf Pathan. It is very unfortunate that the world of cricket lost this legend at such a young age. Shane had a lot more to contribute to this community.

5) Adam Gilchrist is not Featuring in the TATA IPL 2022: 

Adam Gilchrist played an important role in reviving the Deccan Chargers. The Chargers were a star-studded lineup in the first season. They had the likes of Scott Styris, Jessey Ryder, Andrew Symonds, Shahid Afridi, and RP Singh. VVS Laxman was their leader. But the team managed to win only 1 game. In IPL 2009, the Chargers found it difficult to get a sponsor. That is when Adam associated himself with the team. DC won the title in 2009. Rohit Sharma won the “Emerging Player of the Season” award that year. RP Singh held the purple cap.  

To know more go to the official page of the IPL.