Img subjected to copyright.

The IPL 2022 season is underway. We have already seen many exceptional performances. Faf Du Plessis, Ishan Kishan, and Deepak Hooda have made clear intentions to win the orange cap. On the other hand, Mohammad Shami and Kuldeep Yadav have performed with the leather in hand. They are top contenders for the Purple Cap. But who are the Champions that have won the caps over the years? Here is an in-depth look at the list: 

Orange Cap Winners List till IPL 2022: 

Name  Runs Scored Team 
Shaun Marsh 616 Kings XI Punjab 
Matthew Hayden 572 Chennai Super Kings 
Sachin Tendulkar 618 Mumbai Indians 
Chris Gayle 608 Royal Challengers Bangalore 
Chris Gayle 733 Royal Challengers Bangalore 
Michael Hussey 733 Chennai Super Kings 
Robin Uthappa 660 Kolkata Knight Riders 
David Warner 562 Sunrisers Hyderabad 
Virat Kohli 973 Royal Challengers Bangalore 
David Warner 641 Sunrisers Hyderabad 
Kane Williamson 735 Sunrisers Hyderabad 
David Warner 692 Sunrisers Hyderabad 
KL Rahul 670 Punjab Kings 
Ruturaj Gaikwad 635 Chennai Super Kings 

Ruturaj Gaikwad won the Orange Cap in IPL 2021: 

The last season saw an uncapped player winning the orange cap. Ruturaj Gaikwad was in his prime form. The second on the list was Faf Du Plessis by just 2 runs. Chennai Super Kings won the title due to both these batsmen. Ruturaj plays domestic cricket for Maharashtra. He has good knowledge about the MCA pitch. Gaikwad has been an integral part of the India A team for over 2 years now. He has been knocking on the door of the national team for quite some time. He debuted for the T20 team in the India tour of Sri Lanka in 2021. He has an exquisite cover drive. Ruturaj recently broke Virat Kohli’s record of three consecutive 100s in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.  It will be amazing to see how he bats in the IPL 2022 season.

Purple Cap Winners List till IPL 2022: 

Player Name Wickets Taken Team 
Sohail Tanvir 22 Rajasthan Royals 
Rudra Pratap Singh 23 Deccan Chargers 
Pragya Ojha 21 Deccan Chargers 
Lasith Malinga 28 Mumbai Indians 
Morne Morkel 25 Delhi Daredevils 
Dwayne Bravo 32 Chennai Super Kings 
Mohit Sharma 23 Chennai Super Kings 
Dwayne Bravo 26 Chennai Super Kings 
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 23 Sunrisers Hyderabad 
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 26 Sunrisers Hyderabad 
Andrew Tye 24 Kings XI Punjab 
Imran Tahir 26 Chennai Super Kings 
Kagiso Rabada 30 Delhi Capitals 
Harshal Patel 32 Royal Challengers Bangalore 
Once a purple cap winner, Mohit Sharma is now a net bowler for Gujarat Titans. IMG SRC: Zee News India.

Harshal Patel won the Purple Cap in IPL 2021: 

Harshal Patel won the prestigious Purple Cap in IPL 2021. While doing so he also became the only bowler to match Dwayne Bravo’s record of 32 wickets in an IPL season. Harshal made effective use of the conditions and bowled very well. His slower balls made life hell for the batters. His 5-wicket haul against the Mumbai Indians in Chennai was a treat to watch. He is a thinking bowler and knows what to bowl. Apart from the 37-run over which he bowled to Ravindra Jadeja, Harshal had an exceptional tournament. It will be good to see how Harshal bowls in the IPL 2022 season.

To know more go to the official website of the IPL.