Indian Cricket Team
Rohit Sharma has replaced Rahane as the deputy captain.

Indian Cricket Team for India tour of South Africa 2021 has been announced. The BCCI Twitter handle on Wednesday announced the team. The key developments are that Virat Kohli will be leading the team in the Test Series of India Tour of South Africa 2021. Rohit Sharma has been named Virat Kohli deputy replacing Ajinkya Rahane. Rahul Dravid and Virat Kohli alongside Rohit Sharma will be looking to win the first test series in South Africa.  

Indian Team for India Tour of South Africa 2021: – 

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma(VC), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj. 

Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla. 

Key Developments in India tour of South Africa 2021: – 

The key development in the team selected for the test series against South Africa is that Ajinkya Rahane has been backed. Ajinkya has scored 411 runs in 12 matches with a career-worst average of 19.11. Ajinkya is a solid player with class. He deserves another opportunity is what the selection panel had to say about their decision. Rohit Sharma has been named Vice-Captain. 

Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, and Shardul Thakur have made a comeback to the team after taking a rest from the two-match series against New Zealand. The frontline batters, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, and Rohit Sharma have also made a comeback from rest.  

Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah have made a comeback to the team after a resting period.

Mayank Agarwal who scored an amazing 150 in the second test at Mumbai in the New Zealand Tour of India has been backed. Mayank was expected to be dropped after having several options for the opening spot but he has proved his mettle. Hanuma Vihari who controversially missed out on the test series against New Zealand also has made a comeback. 

Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel, the two left-arm spinners from Gujarat have been rested due to their injuries. Jayant Yadav has been picked as the second spinner in the squad.  

Expected Playing 11 for India tour of South Africa 2021: – 

The expected playing XI for the India tour of South Africa 2021 is as follows. However, depending upon availability and injuries, the team can change. 

Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer/ Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Shardul Thakur, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj.