India four of South Africa
India four of South Africa

India announced the team for South Africa tour | Veteran players will be included after the World Cup: These days, cricket tournaments are being organized back to back. India is currently playing the T-20I series against Australia and immediately after that, India has announced the squad for the all-format tour of South Africa starting from December 10.

In the absence of many regular players including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Hardik Pandya, who are among the big cricketers of India, KL Rahul will lead the ODI team against the Proteas.

In the longer format, India will be back with full strength with the return of Rahul, Shreyas Iyer and Jasprit Bumrah after a long absence from Test cricket. Rohit Sharma will return to lead the team for the Tests along with Virat Kohli, with both players requesting a break from the white-ball phase of the tour.

Red-ball stalwarts Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara, who both played in India’s XI for the World Test Championship Final against Australia in June, have no place in the squad now that Rahul and Iyer have returned.

Mohammed Shami is back in the Test team as well, albeit his availability is pending his recovery from his current medical condition. Mukesh Kumar, who made his Test debut during the West Indies tour, and Yashasvi Jaiswal maintain their positions.

Both Rajat Patidar and Sanju Samson make the ODI team; the latter is back from a lengthy layoff due to an injury to his Achilles heel. Together with Sai Sudharsan, who has had outstanding stints in both the domestic circuit and the Indian Premier League (IPL), Rinku Singh’s achievements in the shortest format have earned him a debut call-up in the ODI format.

India’s attention is now turned to the World Test Championship and the impending T20 World Cup following the devastating loss in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Final.

As part of the current WTC cycle, there will be a Test series against South Africa. The action will begin on Boxing Day in Centurion, and the second Test will be held in Cape Town in the new year. The tour will start with a three-match T20I and ODI series before to the red-ball series.

With their 1-0 series win against the West Indies in July, India is ranked second in the WTC25 standings, whereas South Africa has not yet participated in the World Test Championship.

Also Read: IPL 2024: RCB Full list of Players Retained, Released, Traded and Remaining Purse Ahead of IPL 2024 Auction | Royal Challengers Bangalore Team List

India announced the team for South Africa tour.

Team India Announced ODI and T20I Squads
Team India Announced ODI and T20I Squads

India’s squad for T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for ODIs: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami (subject to fitness), Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna. 

ICC World Test Championship Standing. 2023 – 2025

4WEST INDIES16.67401110
9SRI LANKA0002010

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings [Rank 1 to 10], Australia Surpassed Pakistan Updated After India vs Australia 3rd T20I 2023