IND vs AFG 2024: Rohit Sharma & Virat Kohli Returns as BCCI Announces Squad for T20I Series Against Afghanistan
IND vs AFG 2024: Rohit Sharma & Virat Kohli Returns to the T20I Side | Image Credit:

IND vs AFG 2024: Rohit Sharma & Virat Kohli Returns as BCCI Announces Squad for T20I Series Against Afghanistan: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Announced a 16-member squad for the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan, which will start from January 11, 2024. The Major Development is Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli returns to the T20I side after the T20I World Cup 2022. 

The Squad have a mixture of experienced and young players to promote the youngsters in the shorter format as they are playing good cricket in the league and domestic cricket. Sanju Samson also returns to the T20I squad after a long time and most probably, Sanju will be doing the wicket–keeping for the Indian Team in this series.

Young Players like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Verma, JItesh Sharma, Shivam Dube and Rinku Singh have been added to the squad. This will be an excellent opportunity for the Young players to perform and fix their position in India’s T20I Team. They can also get a chance to play in the ICC Men’s T20I World Cup 2024 if they continuously perform in the T20 Cricket.

Team India will be playing their first T20I match against Afghanistan at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali on January 11, 2024. The Second and Third T20I matches will be played in Indore and Bengaluru, respectively.

IND vs AFG 2024: The Key Pacers were given rest for this series:

The Addition of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in this series clearly shows that they will be playing the ICC Men’s T20I World Cup 2024 but still, BCCI haven’t officially announced it. The Key Pacers like Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami and Mohd. Siraj wasn’t added to the squad as they were given rest due to the tight schedule in the upcoming months.

IND vs AFG 2024, Hardik & Surya unavailable Due to the Injuries:

Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya were ruled out of the T20I series against Afghanistan due to injuries and they are expected to return in the IPL 2024. Ruturaj Gaikwad is also sidelined for this series however, he was the part of Indian Team in the last T20I series against South Africa.

IND vs AFG 2024, Team India Squad for T20I Series:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Yashaswi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shivam Dube, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan.

Read This: T20 World Cup 2024: Pakistan Full Schedule, Venue List, Timing, Where to Watch Pakistan Matches | ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC