Asia Cup 2023: Bangladesh Star Batter Litton Das get Ruled out of Asia Cup due to Viral Fever
Litton Das

Asia Cup 2023: Bangladesh Star Batter Litton Das gets Ruled out of Asia Cup due to Viral Fever: Bangladesh wicketkeeper-batter Litton Das has been ruled out of the 2023 Asia Cup as he could not recover from viral fever. Litton Das will miss the whole tournament for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh is going to their first match of Asia Cup 2023 against Sri Lanka on August 31 at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy, Sri Lanka, and the match will start at 3:00 PM (IST)

Litton Das has been the leading run-scorer in ODIs for Bangladesh, with 2213 runs. He has also played 39 Tests and 73 T20Is and contributed a lot to the team in many tournaments.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has called in a wicketkeeper-batter, Anamul Haque Bijoy, as Litton Das replacement. He has played 44 ODIs and scored 1254 runs, including three centuries. Bijoy’s last ODI appearance for Bangladesh was against India in December 2022.

The Chairman of the National Selection Panel, Minhajul Abedin, said that Bijoy had been in good form in domestic cricket and had been monitored by the selectors.

He said that Bijoy was a top-order batter who could keep wicket and that he was the best option to replace Litton Das. Anamul Haque Bijoy will arrive in Sri Lanka on Wednesday to join the Bangladesh team for the opening match.

Bijoy is expected to make his first appearance in the Asia Cup 2023 for Bangladesh. The tournament will be played in Sri Lanka and Pakistan from August 30 to September 17.

There are two groups of three teams, and Bangladesh is in Group B with Afghanistan and host Sri Lanka. It will be quite difficult for them to defeat them in ODIs as Both the teams have a strong spin side and decent batting line-up.

Asia Cup 2023: Bangladesh Updated Squad

Bangladesh Asia Cup Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (C), Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Shamim Hossain, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Naim Sheikh, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Taskin Ahmed.

Read This Also: Asia Cup 2023: Pakistan vs Nepal Head to Head Records in ODIs, Top 3 Players with Stats & Records, Match Prediction

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC