Top 5 Players To Have Ever Played for AC Milan.

AC Milan
The Rossoneri are one team that always grabs the eyes in European Leagues

AC Milan is one team that has always been the talk of the town. You talk about Italian football and AC Milan is bound to feature. AC Milan unquestionably is one team that is one of the greatest European clubs. Cesare Maldini, Mauro Tassoti and Gianni Rivera, the club has seen all of these legends. The club was at an all-time high when they won the Champions League back in the 2007 season. The Rossoneri have consecutively been in the top 3 of the Serie A, the major domestic league of Italian football for a long while now. Here is a look at the top 5 players to have ever played for AC Milan: – 

Andrea Pirlo: – 

Andrea Pirlo is unquestionably a sure mention in the top 5 list of AC Milan players. This Italian has been a loyal servant of the greatest game. He has played a humongous 401 appearances for the Rossoneri and scored 41 goals. But it was his playmaking skill in the midfield that did the tricks. Andrea was a great reader of the game. He played for AC Milan for 10 years from 2001-2010.  

Andrea Pirlo is one of the iconic players that the Milan crowd has witnessed.

Andrea Pirlo was a strong disciplinarian and an authoritative figure on the pitch. Pirlo has said one of the best footballing quotes saying, “Football is played with the mind, while the feet are just the tools.”  

Here is a list of honors that Pirlo witnessed along with AC Milan: – 


Serie A-2 times: 2004, 2011; Coppa Italia Once: 2002-2003; Italian Super Cup Once: 2004; UEFA Champions League 2 Times: 2002-2003, 2006-2007; UEFA Super Cup 2 Times: 2003, 2007; FIFA Club World Cup Once: 2007 


2006 FIFPro World XI Midfielder. 

Marco Van Basten: – 

Marco Van Basten if not mentioned would be a disgrace to the top 5 list. He is the greatest striker that the AC Milan squad has ever witnessed. His quick movement on the pitch made the Italian defenders dance on the pitch. He was very skillful and focused when on the ground. His runs were a treat to watch. He played for 8 years from 1987-1995 and made 201 appearances. He was an impactful player and scored 124 goals for the club. This Dutch striker was cited as one of the best after Bergkamp and Cruyff. 

1994, Italy, Marco van BAsten scores for AC Milan. photo Michael Kooren

Marco Van Basten was loved by the Italian fans. He was a treat to watch on the field. His skill work made the defenders question where the ball is? Marco Van Basten was a fitness freak and that added to the longevity of his career.  

Here is a list of honors he won at AC Milan: – 


Serie A (3 times): 1987-1988, 1991-1992, 1992-1993; Italian Super Cup (3 times): 1988, 1992, 1993; European Cup (2 times): 1988-1989, 1989-1990; UEFA Super Cup (2 times): 1989, 1990; Intercontinental Cup (2 times): 1989, 1990 


1992 FIFA World Player of the Year; World Soccer Player of the Year (2 times): 1988, 1992; UEFA Best Player of the Year (3 times): 1989, 1990, 1992; IFFHS Best Player of the Year (3 times): 1988, 1989, 1990; Onze d’Or (2 times): 1988, 1989; Onze d’Argent (2 times): 1987, 1992; 1987 Bravo Award; European Footballer of The Year (3): 1988, 1989, 1992. 

Franco Baresi: – 

Franco Baresi was an Italian footballer who played for AC Milan as a sweeper. His defending skills were top-notch. From 1977-1997 Franco Baresi played 719 games for the Rossoneri and he scored a merge 33 times. But these stats do not overshadow his defensive skills. He has over 1500 tackles and 1000 interceptions. Franco wasn’t a very tall and strong lad but his intent to play the game was clear. He was always playing to stop the opposition from scoring. He played alongside Paolo Maldini and the duo conceded only 23 goals in 196 games while playing as center backs.  

Baresi alongside Maldini was a Wall!

Here is a list of honors he won at AC Milan: – 


Serie A (6 times): 1978-1979, 1987-1988, 1991-1992, 1992-1993, 1993-1994, 1995-1996; Serie B (2 times): 1980-1981, 1982-1983; Italian Super Cup (4 times): 1988, 1992, 1993, 1994; UEFA Champions League (3 times): 1988-1989, 1989-1990, 1993-1994 


1989 European Silver Ball Footballer of the Year; 1989-1990 Serie A Player of the Year; 1990 IFFHS World Player of the Year Silver Ball; FIFA 100; AC Milan Player of the 20th Century 

Gianni Rivera: – 

Gianni Rivera is certainly an AC Milan Club legend. He played in the midfield for the Rossoneri for 19 long years. From 1960 to 1979 there were hardly any games that Gianni missed out on. He was the face of Milan for those years. Rivera played for 658 games making it the 3rd highest total and has scored 165 goals. Gianni was a strong authoritative individual and made his presence felt on the pitch. He was a great player and the fans loved him too. It was Gianni’s passion that set him apart from the other players.  

Rivera and his passion for football are unmatched even today.

Here is a look at the honors that he won at AC Milan: – 


Serie A (3 times): 1961-1962, 1967-1968, 1978-1979; Coppa Italia (4 times): 1967, 1972, 1973, 1977; UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup (2 times): 1967-1968, 1972-1973; European Cup (2 times): 1962-1963, 1968-1969; Intercontinental Cup (1 time): 1969 


1972-1973 Serie A Capocannoniere; 1969 European Player of the Year 

Paolo Maldini: – 

Paolo Maldini was a beast. He is the greatest player to ever play for AC Milan. Paolo was at the club for 25 years from 1984 to 2009. He played an immense 902 games and scored 33 goals. He alongside Baresi was the talk of the town. They were a dynamic duo at the back. They were the spine of Milan on the pitch. He strongly believed in a strict regime and worked on fitness.  

Paolo’s discipline helped him have such a long career.

Here is a look at the honors he won at AC Milan: – 


Serie A (7 times): 1987-1988, 1991-1992, 1992-1993, 1993-1994, 1995-1996, 1998-1999, 2003-2004; Coppa Italia (1 time): 2002-2003; Italian Supercup (5 times): 1988, 1992, 1993, 1994, 2004; UEFA Champions League (5 times): 1988-1989, 1989-1990, 1993-1994, 2002-2003, 2006-2007; UEFA Super Cup (5 times): 1989, 1990, 1994, 2003, 2007; Intercontinental Cup (2 times): 1989, 1990; FIFA Club World Cup (1 time): 2007.