FIFA World Cup 2026
FIFA World Cup 2026

After the dramatic and exciting FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, attention has already shifted to the following season of the world’s most renowned football competition. The good news for supporters is that they won’t have to wait quite as long for the following World Cup.

A new World Cup, with more participants and the potential to be the largest edition ever, will take place in the northern hemisphere summer of 2026. The information that is already available about the upcoming competition has been compiled by FIFA.

Host countries in 2026 FIFA World Cup

For the first time ever, three nations will share responsibility for organising the world’s largest football competition. There will be 16 cities that will hold games. The majority of them (11), Seattle, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Philadelphia, Atlanta, Miami, Boston, and New York, are all in the United States. México City, Monterrey, and Guadalajara will serve as the country’s administrative centres. The Canadian venues are Toronto and Vancouver, respectively.

FIFA World Cup 2026 Stadiums

Sr No.CounteryStadiumLocationCapacityOpened
1CanadaToronto StadiumToronto, Ontario, Canada27980 Expan. Up to 45,000+2007
2CanadaVancouver StadiumVancouver, British Colombia, Canada544051983
3MexicoEstadio AztecaTlalpan, Mexico City, Mexico875231966
4MexicoGuadalajara StadiumZapopan, Jalisco, Mexico480712010
5MexicoMonterrey StadiumGuadalupe, Nuevo Leon, Mexico68500 Expen. Upto 75,0002014
6USAArrowhead StadiumKansas City, Missouri, USA764161972
7USAAtlanta StadiumAtlanta, Georgia, USA71,000 Upto73,0192017
8USABoston StadiumFoxborough, Massachusetts, USA200002002
9USADallas StadiumArlington, Texas, USA80,000 Expan. Upto 105,0002009
10USAHouston StadiumHouston, Texas, USA72,220 Expan. Upto 80,0002002
11USALos Angeles StadiumInglewood, California, USA70,240 Expan. Upto 100,2402020
12USAMiami StadiumMiami Gardens, Florida, USA653261987
13USANew Jersey StadiumEast Rutherford, New Jersey, USA825002010
14USAPhiladelphia StadiumPhiladelphia, Pennsylvania, USA718962003
15USASan Franscico StadiumSanta Clara, California, USA68,500 Expan. Upto 75,0002014
16USASeattle StadiumSeattle, New York City, USA37,722 Expan. Upto 68,7402002

FIFA World Cup dates in 2026

The next World Cup will be held between the months of June and July, as has become customary. The FIFA Council meeting in March 2023 resulted in Sunday, July 19, being chosen as the World Cup’s final date.

FIFA World Cup format 2026

The proposed change to the World Cup 2026 group stage structure, from 16 groups of three to 12 groups of four, was also unanimously approved by the FIFA Council. The top eight third-place teams from each group as well as the top two teams from each group will now advance to the round of 32. From the group stage through the final, hopefuls will now have to play eight games as opposed to seven.

FIFA World Cup qualifying

46 of the 48 participating teams are covered by the aforementioned allocation. The last two spots in the FIFA World CupTM will be decided by a play-off competition amongst six teams. With the exception of UEFA, each confederation will send one team, and the host country’s confederation will send another team, plus two more teams that will be seeded according to the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking.

FIFA World Cup 2026: Qualified teams & countries


The USA have automatically qualified for the World Cup for the second time in a row as co-hosts, and they will be hoping to improve on their Round of 16 showing in Qatar 2022. The 1930 run to the semi-finals was the United States’ finest performance at the competition to date. This will be the United States’ 12th World Cup and their second on home soil following USA ’94.


Mexico will host the 2026 World Cup for the third time, having previously hosted the event in 1970 and 1986. El Tri has thus hosted the tournament more frequently than any other nation. The country will compete in its 18th World Cup; its previous best results occurred at home, where they advanced to the quarterfinals in 1970 and 1986.


The Maple Leafs will be participating in back-to-back tournaments for the first time ever as Canada completes the trio of hosts. Their only prior appearances in the competition were in 1986 and 2022, both of which resulted in losses in the group round.

Alo Read: FIFA award: Achievements of Lionel Messi on top, win FIFA award for 7th time.