Durand Cup 2023
Durand Cup 2023

Durand Cup 2023: The Durand Cup, a tournament steeped in history and tradition, has once again ignited the passion of football fans across India and beyond. The 132nd edition of this esteemed competition, held from August 3 to September 3, 2023, has brought together 24 teams vying for the coveted title.

Stepping onto the pitch with fervor, they not only play for glory but also carry forward a legacy that dates back to 1888, making the Durand Cup the oldest football competition in India and Asia, and the third-oldest in the world.

Organized by India’s Armed Forces, the tournament showcases the nation’s football prowess while honoring a rich sporting heritage.

The format of the Durand Cup 2023 is divided into two stages: the group stage and the knockout rounds. The matches take place across venues in West Bengal and Assam, adding a touch of regional diversity to the competition.

The 24 participating teams are divided into six groups, with each group featuring four teams. The stage is set for an intense round-robin face-off, where every team has an opportunity to prove its mettle.

Group Stage: Thrills and Triumphs

In the group stage, each team competes against the others within its group in a single-legged round-robin format. The stakes are high, and the excitement palpable as teams battle it out for supremacy.

The early matches showcased both dominant victories and nail-biting draws, showcasing the diverse skills and strategies on display.

Durand Cup 2023: Teams and groups

  • Group A: Bangladesh Army, East Bengal, Mohun Bagan SG, Punjab FC
  • Group B: Indian Navy, Jamshedpur FC, Mohammedan SC, Mumbai City FC
  • Group C: Bengaluru FC, Gokulam Kerala FC, Indian Air Force FT, Kerala Blasters
  • Group D: Downtown Heroes FC, FC Goa, NorthEast United FC, Shillong Lajong
  • Group E: Chennaiyin FC, Delhi FC, Hyderabad FC, Tribhuwan Army
  • Group F: Bodoland FC, Indian Army FC, Odisha FC, Rajasthan United FC

Durand Cup 2023 results

August 3, ThursdayMohun Bagan SG 5-0 Bangladesh Army FTAVYBK
August 4, FridayNortheast United FC 4-0 Shillong LajongDIGAS
August 5, SaturdayBodoland FC 0-1 Rajasthan United FCFSAI Stadium
August 5, SaturdayMohammedan SC 1-3 Mumbai City FCBKBK
August 6, SundayDelhi FC 1-1 Hyderabad FCEIGAS
August 6, SundayEast Bengal 2-2 Bangladesh Army FTAVYBK
August 7, MondayOdisha FC 0-1 Indian Army FTFSAI Stadium
August 7, MondayMohun Bagan SG 2-0 Punjab FCAKBK
August 8, TuesdayFC Goa 6-0 Shillong LajongDIGAS
August 8, TuesdayMumbai City FC 5-0 Jamshedpur FCBVYBK
August 9, WednesdayDelhi FC 1-1 Tribhuwan ArmyESAI Stadium
August 9, WednesdayGokulam Kerala FC 2-0 Indian Air Force FTCKBK
August 10, ThursdayHyderabad FC 1-3 Chennaiyin FCEIGAS
August 10, ThursdayPunjab FC 0-0 Bangladesh Army FTAVYBK
August 11, FridayMohammedan SC 2-1 Indian Navy FTBKBK
August 11, FridayOdisha FC 2-1 Rajasthan United FCFSAI Stadium
August 12, SaturdayNortheast United FC 2-2 FC GoaDIGAS
August 12, SaturdayMohun Bagan SG 0-1 East Bengal FCAVYBK
August 13, SundayKerala Blasters 3-4 Gokulam Kerala FCCMBG
August 13, SundayDowntown Heroes 1-2 Shillong LajongDSAI Stadium
August 14, MondayChennaiyin FC 3-0 Tribhuwan ArmyEIGAS
August 14, MondayBengaluru FC 1-1 Indian Air Force FTCKBK
August 16, WednesdayFC Goa 3-0 Downtown HeroesDIGAS
August 16, WednesdayEast Bengal FC 1-0 Punjab FCAKBK
August 17, ThursdayJamshedpur FC 1-0 Indian Navy FTBMBG
August 17, ThursdayBodoland FC 1-2 Indian Army FTFSAI Stadium
August 18, FridayDelhi FC 1-2 Chennaiyin FCEIGAS
August 18, FridayBengaluru FC 2-2 Kerala BlastersCKBK
August 19, SaturdayMumbai City FC 4-0 Indian Navy FTBVYBK
August 19, SaturdayBodoland FC 2-1 Odisha FCFSAI Stadium
August 20, SundayNortheast United FC 3-1 Downtown HeroesDIGAS
August 20, SundayMohammedan SC 6-0 Jamshedpur FCBKBK
August 21, MondayKerala Blasters 5-0 Indian Air Force FTCEBG
August 21, MondayRajasthan United FC 0-0 Indian Army FTFSAI Stadium
August 22, TuesdayHyderabad FC 3-0 Tribhuwan ArmyEIGAS
August 22, TuesdayBengaluru FC 2-0 Gokulam Kerala FCCKBK
August 24, ThursdayQuarter-final 1: NorthEast United FC 1-0 Indian Army FTQFIGAS
August 25, FridayQuarter-final 2: East Bengal FC 2-1 Gokulam Kerala FCQFVYBK
August 26, SaturdayQuarter-final 3: FC Goa 4-1 Chennaiyin FCQFIGAS
August 27, SundayQuarter-final 4: Mohun Bagan 3-1 Mumbai City FCQFVYBK
August 29, TuesdaySemi-finals: NorthEast United FC vs East BengalSFVYBK
August 31, ThursdaySemi-finals: FC Goa vs Mohun BaganSFVYBK
September 3, SundayFinal: Winner of SF 1 vs Winner of SF 2FVYBK

Also Read: World Cup 2023: Sourav Ganguly named a strong 15-Member Team India Squad for ICC ODI World Cup 2023

Durand Cup 2023 points table

Group A points table

1*East Bengal3210742+2
2**Mohun Bagan SG3201671+6
3Bangladesh Army3021227-5
4Punjab FC3012103-3

Group B points table

1*Mumbai City FC33009121+11
2**Mohammedan SC32016945
3Jamshedpur FC31023111-10
4Indian Navy3003017-6

Group C points table

1*Gokulam Kerala FC3201665+1
2**Bengaluru FC3120553+2
2Kerala Blasters31114106+4
4Indian Air Force FT3012118-7

Group D points table

1*FC Goa32107112+9
2**NorthEast United FC3210793+6
3Shillong Lajong31023211-9
4Downtown Heroes FC3003028-6

Group E points table

1*Chennaiyin FC3300982+6
2**Hyderabad FC3111454+1
3Delhi FC3021234-1
4Tribhuwan Army3012117-6

Group F points table

1*Indian Army FC3210731+2
2**Rajasthan United FC31114220
3Bodoland FC3102334-1
4Odisha FC3102334-1

Durand Cup venues

  • VYBK: Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan/ Salt Lake Stadium (Kolkata)
  • MBG: Mohun Bagan Ground (Kolkata)
  • EBG: East Bengal Ground (Kolkata)
  • KBK: Kishore Bharati Krirangan (Kolkata)
  • SAI: Sports Authority of India Stadium (Kokrajhar)
  • IGAS: Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium (Guwahati)

Durand Cup 2023: Group runner-up standings

1*NorthEast UnitedD32107+6
2*Mohun Bagan SGA32016+6
3Mohammedan SCB32016+5
4Kerala BlastersC31114+4
5Rajasthan UnitedF311140
6Delhi FCE30212-1

Also Read: ACC Men’s Emerging Asia Cup 2023 Points Table [July 17] Latest Updated After India A vs Nepal