Mumbai Indians
Here is a look at the top 5 moments from the history of the men in blue.

Mumbai Indians is a team that has a legacy. A team that has been at the top ranks for several years. Mumbai Indians and their sea of blue are a treat to watch at every game at the Wankhede. The team has had the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Lasith Malinga, Sanath Jayasuriya, and Shaun Pollock. The team currently is the best T20 side in the world and it has been the same over the years. From 2019 to 2021, this team has grabbed a lot of praise as well. Here is a look at the top 5 moments from Mumbai Indians’ Team: – 

IPL 2013 Witnessing Sachin Tendulkar and Ricky Ponting Bat Together: – 

IPL 2013 was one hell of a ride for Mumbai Indians. The team initially were having a star-studded side. The team back then included the likes of Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Mitchell Johnson, Pragyan Ojha, and many more. One can never ignore the IPL of 2013. The campaign began with Punter being the captain of the side. Ponting and Tendulkar began the season for Mumbai as openers in the game against arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings. Both the openers fell quickly but the very image of both the greats of the 2000s walking to bat together is one for the ages!  

Later on, in the season the openers stitched 63 runs in the 3rd game of the season against Pune Warriors India. Mumbai eventually won the game by 41 runs and the credit for this victory was given to this dynamic duo!  

IPL 2013 Winning The First Title: – 

Winning the first title of the IPL is always special. The cricket community still remembers the Rajasthan Royals celebrating along with an India-shaped trophy. Be it SRH in 2016 or be it Deccan Chargers in 2009, the first trophy is always special. The 2013 season saw several ups and downs. After dropping Ricky Ponting due to lack of form, Rohit Sharma was drafted as the skipper. Like every year Mumbai were slow starters this year as well. But then coped up and found a space in the finals.  

The finals in turn were turning out to be a nightmare. Mumbai Indians lost Rohit, Tare, Dwayne Smith very cheaply. Dinesh Karthik tried to hold the innings together but perished in the 20s. And then came CSK’s biggest obstacle. Pollard it was! Pollard took the side to the 148. And the rest of the job was done by Mitchell Johnson and Lasith Malinga. CSK was 125 for 9 and MI clinched the first title. 

IPL 2017 Defending a Score Below 130 in IPL Finals: – 

Defending a score as low as 125 seems a big task in an average T20 Game. Mumbai Indians were again struggling in this final against the Rising Pune SuperGiants. They were rattled after their batsmen went back to the pavilion for low scores. But this time it was a young free-spirited champion all-rounder who came to their rescue. Krunal Pandya made a swashbuckling, fighting 47 runs, and took the team to a respectable total of 129. 

In comes, the second innings, and the Mumbai bowlers begin to show their true flying colors. The bowlers never went for picking up wickets. The main goal of the team was to keep things tight! Rahane notched up a 50 in 38 long balls. Simultaneously Steven Smith too was scoring decently well at less than run a ball. It was the last ball of the innings and 3 runs were required. Mitchell Johnson was bowling, the Pune batsmen scampered for 1 run and one of them was run-out at the keeper’s end. One can still picture Rohit Sharma taking his cap off and running in delight. 

IPL 2014 chasing 192 in 14.3 Overs Against Rajasthan Royals: – 

This incident as expected was bound to be on the list. For those cricket fans who do not know what happened, here it is. Mumbai was struggling to make it to the playoffs. They could secure only 14 points if they won the game against Rajasthan. But it had to be done with a big margin to get a better net run rate. A better net run rate was required since Rajasthan already had claimed 14 points. 

Rajasthan scored a big, huge 189 runs target. But Mumbai had other plans. Corey Anderson had different plans. And Ambati Rayudu too had an elite plan. Corey Anderson was promoted up the order and he tonked the bowlers. He was rampant. He scored 95 runs off 44 balls. Each batsman just walked in and threw their bat around. Ambati Rayudu scored 30 runs off 10 balls!! Mumbai got to the total in 14.3 overs. The net run rate was tied, the scores were tied and both the teams were standing at equal points. Now the equation was that Mumbai needed a boundary on the 14.4 delivery. Aditya Tare walked in nonchalantly with chewing gum in his mouth and hooked James Faulkner over square leg for a six! His shirtless celebration followed. Rahul Dravid threw his cap down in anger! 

IPL 2020 Claiming the 5th IPL Title: – 

Claiming the 5th title was the most momentous occasion in Mumbai Indians’ history. The IPL 2020 season was the most dominant of them all. Mumbai did not play many close games. The team dominated and drove through almost every team with ease. The moment of the Mumbai Indians’ players holding a trophy in their hand resembling 5 with the other is something that is instilled in our minds.