WPL 2023 Details, Squads, Points table and Prediction

WPL 2023
WPL 2023

WPL 2023: As said Games are not made only for men but also women, and the game of cricket is no exception to the tradition. Especially in recent years, Women’s cricket has been given equal significance as that of men’s cricket. The fever of T20 cricket has been cast throughout the world in recent times and Women’s T20 is the new sensation. 

To give these players an amazing domestic platform, BCCI has taken this noble initiative to create a platform similar to the IPL, i.e., the WPL (Women’s Premier League), which has attracted several international giants and the Indian domestic women are all set to share a platform with them. 

The Opening season of the WPL is to be played between 5 teams, representing various states and will be hosted at the Brabourne and the DY Patil from March 4th to 26th.

WPL 2023: Squads

Source: Sports Kesari

1. Gujarat Giants – Beth Mooney (c), S. Meghana, Georgia Wareham, Mansi Joshi, Tanuja Kanwer, Sneh Rana (vc), Ashleigh Gardner, Sophia Dunkley, Annabelle Sutherland, Harleen Deol, Sushma Verma, Hurley Gala, D. Hemlatha, Monica Patel, Ashwani Kumari, Parunika Sisodia, Shabnam MD, Kim Garth (added).

2. UP Warriorz – Alyssa Healy (c), Tahlia McGrath, Shabnim Ismail, Deepti Sharma (vc), Sophia Ecclestone, Anjali Sarvani, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Kiran Navgire, Laxmi Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, Shweta Sehrawat, S. Yashasri, Grace Harris, Devika Vaidya, Lauren Bell, Simran Shaikh.

3. Delhi Capitals – Shefali Verma, Alice Capsey, Meg Lanning (c), Jemimah Rodrigues (vc), Marizanne Kapp, Titas Sadhu, Laura Harris, Tara Norris, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Jasia Akhter, Jess Jonassen, Minnu Mani, Taniya Bhatia, Aparna Mondal, Poonam Yadav, Sneha Deepthi, Arundhati Reddy.

4. Royal Challengers Bangalore – Smriti Mandhana (c), Ellyse Perry, Erin Burns, Renuka Singh, Diksha Kasat, Indrani Roy, Sophie Divine, Richa Ghosh, Shreyanka Patil, Kanika Ahuja, Asha Shibana, Preeti Bose, Poonam Khemnar, Megan Schutt, Heather Knight, Dane van Niekerk, Sahana Pawar.

5. Mumbai Indians – Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Amarjot Kaur, Dhara Gujjar, Saika Ishaque, Nat Sciver, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia, Heather Graham, Issy Wong, Humaira Kazi, Komal Zanzad, Priyanka Bala, Sonam Yadav, Neelam Bisht, Jintamani Kalita, Hayley Matthews, Chloe Tryon. 

WPL 2023: Points Table

1(Q) Mumbai Indians65110+2.670
2Delhi Capitals6428+1.431
3UP Warriorz6336-0.117
4Royal Challengers Bangalore7254-1.044
5Gujarat Giants7254-2.511

WPL 2023 Prediction

This is just the debut season of the Women’s Premier League, and most of the predictions are to be made based on team sheets. The best and the most formidable team on sheets in the WPL 2023 seems to be Mumbai Indians. Though teams like RCBW, DCW and even the UPW are the teams which comprise a great bunch of players, we can expect highly anticipated gameplay throughout the tournament.

But after all this, the Indians might be the team, who can win this debut WPL season, though they are expected to face tough opposition from the capitals who are led by the unanimous Meg Lanning. 

Also Read:- WPL 2023 Match No 5: Delhi Capitals-W vs UP Warriorz Match details, DC-W vs UP Warriorz Dream11 Prediction, Fantasy Team, Playing 11, Pitch Report, Live Streaming