T20I: Suryakumar Yadav led India for the first time with a brilliant half-century and teammate Rinku Singh played a key role as India chased down the target of 209 against Australia in the first T20I of the three-match series in Vizag on Thursday.

Chasing a target of 209, Suryakumar was in trouble for India at 22/2 and he soon hit his trademark pull shot over fine leg off Jason Behrendorff for six.

With Ishan Kishan increasing the pace from the other end, Suryakumar hit his shots in the powerplay. Sean Abbott’s next over hit a six and a four and Nathan Ellis’ final powerplay over hit two more fours, taking Suryakumar to 26 off just 12 balls.

The captain had talked about playing “fearless” cricket on the eve of the game and stuck to his approach with a tough target in mind.

Kishan hit a four and two sixes off his match-up Tanvir Sangha in the ninth over and soon completed his half-century in the 13th over off the same bowler. However, he was out after two balls for 58 as Australia broke the dangerous stand.

Suryakumar continued his attack and scored fifty runs in 29 balls with a big hit off Abbott. While Tilak Verma fell without adding much at the other end, Suryakumar got support from Rinku Singh.

Despite being bothered by cramps, the captain stood firm to help India complete a record run-chase in men’s T20Is. He was eventually dismissed by Aaron Hardy after scoring 80 runs in 42 balls, but by then India needed only 15 runs from 14 balls.

Axar Patel’s late dismissal followed by Ravi Bishnoi’s run out on the next ball added to the drama. After Bishnoi was run out, India needed two runs from two balls, but Rinku Singh remained calm despite the immense pressure to hit a back-of-length delivery down the leg side.

However, Arshdeep Singh was run out attempting a second run and India fell with eight wickets and needed one run to win with one ball to spare. Cool as always, Rinku Singh gave India a sensational victory by hitting a six on the last ball.

Due to the final delivery being a no-ball, the six ultimately did not count as an extra run for India’s victory. India had never chased a big target to win a men’s T20 match.

The previous highest score was achieved in Hyderabad in 2019 when Virat Kohli’s unbeaten 94 helped India chase down the target of 208 with more than an over to spare. Overall, this was India’s fifth successful run-chase of a target of over 200 in men’s T20Is.

Also Read: IND vs AUS Dream11 Prediction 1st T20I 2023 | India vs Australia Dream11 Team, Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium Vizag Pitch Report

India vs Australia 1st T20I 2023 Scorecard.


Australia Batting

Steve Smith run out (Prasidh Krishna)52
Matthew Short b Ravi Bishnoi13
Josh Inglis WKT c Yashasvi Jaiswal b Prasidh Krishna110
Marcus Stoinis NOT OUT7
Tim David NOT OUT19
Total (3 wickets, 20 overs)208

India Bowling

BowlersOverMedium SeamRunWicketEconDots
Arshdeep Singh4041010.2510
Prasidh Krishna4050112.57
Axar Patel40320810
Ravi Bishnoi4054113.57
Mukesh Kumar402907.2511

India Batting

Yashasvi Jaiswal c Steve Smith b Matthew Short21822262.5
Ruturaj Gaikwad run out (Nathan Ellis)00000
Ishan Kishan WKT c Matthew Short b Tanveer Sangha583925148.71
Surya Kumar Yadav CPT c Aaron Hardie b Jason Behrendorff804294190.47
Tilak Varma c Marcus Stoinis b Tanveer Sangha121020120
Rinku Singh NOT OUT221440157.14
Axar Patel c & b Sean Abbott260033.33
Ravi Bishnoi run out (Matthew Wade)01000
Arshdeep Singh run out (Steve Smith)00000
Mukesh Kumar NOT OUT00000
Total (8 wickets, 19.5 overs)209

Australia Bowling

BowlersOverMedium SeamRunWicketEconDots
Marcus Stoinis30360125
Jason Behrendorff412516.2511
Matthew Short10131132
Sean Abbott3.5043111.218
Nathan Ellis40440118
Tanveer Sangha4047211.755

India vs Australia 1st T20I 2023 Playing XI:

India’s Playing11: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan(WK), Suryakumar Yadav(C), Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Mukesh Kumar.

Australia’s Playing11: Steven Smith, Matthew Short, Josh Inglis, Aaron Hardie, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade(WK/C), Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Tanveer Sangha, Jason Behrendorff. 

Highest run-chases for India in men’s T20Is.

Opposition Nation in T20IStadium in T20ITarget Score in T20IT20I Match Year
v AustraliaVizag2092023
v West IndiesHyderabad2082019
v Sri LankaMohali2072009
v New ZealandAuckland2042020
v AustraliaRajkot2022013

For More Check The Official Site: ICC

Also Read: ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill is in TOP 10 | ICC Men’s ODI Player Standings