ICC World Cup 2024 Schedule
T20 World Cup 2024

T20 World Cup 2024: Game-changer legend cricketer in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup: The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, cricket’s premier T20 international tournament, has been a spectacle of thrilling moments and record-breaking performances since its inception in 2007.

The history of the tournament is rich with remarkable achievements, individual talents and unforgettable matches. As we look forward to the 2024 edition, let’s look back at some of the most notable figures from past tournaments.

T20 World Cup 2024: Evergreen Legends

ICC WC 2023
Rohit Sharma
PlayerNo. of Matches
Rohit Sharma (IND)39
Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)36
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)35
Dwayne Bravo (WI), Shahid Afridi (PAK), Shoaib Malik (PAK), David Warner (AUS)34

Rohit Sharma (India) and Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) are the only players to appear in all editions of the Men’s T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2022. Rohit Sharma, who is set to lead India in the upcoming tournament, has featured in 39 matches, the most by any player. Shakib is at second place with 36 matches. His continued presence is testament to his enduring skill and importance to his teams.

T20 World Cup 2024: Great Batting

Asia Cup 2023: Virat Kohli inches close to achieving new milestone in the India vs Pakistan match on September 2
Virat Kohli
PlayerRuns scored
Virat Kohli (IND)1141
Mahela Jayawardena (SL) 1016
Chris Gayle (WI)965
Rohit Sharma (IND)963
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)897

India’s Virat Kohli tops the list as the highest run-scorer in the history of Men’s T20 World Cup with 1141 runs. His dominance is highlighted by his performance in the 2014 edition, where he scored 319 runs in six matches, the most in a single tournament.

Close to him are Mahela Jayawardene of Sri Lanka, who has scored 1016 runs, and Chris Gayle of West Indies, who has scored 965 runs. Rohit Sharma also had a significant contribution with 963 runs, making him the fourth highest run-scorer.

T20 World Cup 2024: Mastery of Bowling

Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)47
Shahid Afridi (PAK) 39
Lasith Malinga (SL)38
Saeed Ajmal (PAK)36
Ajantha Mendis (SL), Umar GUl (PAK)35

Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan leads the list of wicket-takers with an impressive 47 wickets, a record he will be looking to extend in the 2024 tournament.

Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi and Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga also feature prominently with 39 and 38 wickets respectively. These players have been instrumental in the successes of their teams and often turn the tide of matches with their bowling abilities.

T20 World Cup 2024: Record-Breaking Innings

Brendon McCullum (NZ)123 from 58 ballsv Bangladesh21 Sep 2012, Pallekele
Chris Gayle (WI)117 from 57 ballsv South Africa11 Sep 2007, Johannesburg
Alex Hales (ENG)116* from 64 ballsv Sri Lanka27 Mar 2014, Chattogram
Ahmed Shehzad (PAK)111* from 62 ballsv Bangladesh 30 Mar 2014, Mirpur
Rilee Rossouw (SA)109 from 56 ballsv Bangladesh27 Oct 2022, Sydney

The highest individual score in the history of the tournament is by Brendon McCullum of New Zealand, who played a stormy innings of 123 runs off 58 balls against Bangladesh in 2012. McCullum’s explosive innings included 11 fours and seven sixes.

Chris Gayle made the second highest score in the inaugural tournament in 2007, scoring 117 runs from 57 balls against South Africa. Gayle also made the record of the fastest century by scoring 100 runs in just 47 balls against England in 2016, which remains unmatched till date.

T20 World Cup 2024: Six-Hitting Sensations

PlayerNo. of sixes
Chris Gayle (WI)63
Rohit Sharma (IND)35
Jos Buttler (ENG), Yuvraj Singh (IND)33
Shane Watson (AUS), David Warner (AUS)31

Chris Gayle’s reputation as a six-hitting machine is undisputed with 63 sixes in the T20 World Cup, far ahead of India’s Rohit Sharma with 35 sixes. Other notable six-hitters include England’s Jos Buttler and India’s Yuvraj Singh, who have hit 33 sixes each.

Yuvraj is especially remembered for his remarkable feat of hitting six sixes in an over during the 2007 edition.

T20 World Cup 2024: Great Bowling Performance

PlayerBowling figuresOppositionMatch
Ajantha Mendis (SL)6/8 in 4 oversv Zimbabwe18 Sep 2012, Hambantota
Rangana Herath (SL)5/3 in 3.3 oversv New Zealand31 Mar 2014, Chattogram
Umar Gul (PAK)5/6 in 3 oversv New Zealand13 Jun 2009, The Oval
Sam Curran (ENG)5/10 in 3.4 oversv Afghanistan22 Oct 2022, Perth
Ahsan Malik (NED)5/19 in 4 oversv South Africa27 Mar 2014, Chattogram
Adam Zampa (AUS)5/19 in 4 oversv Bangladesh04 Nov 2021, Dubai

Sri Lankan spinners Ajantha Mendis and Rangana Herath occupy the top two positions in terms of best bowling figures in an innings. Mendis’s 6/8 against Zimbabwe in 2012 is the best performance, while Herath’s 5/3 against New Zealand in 2014 is the second best. These remarkable achievements underline the impact of spin bowling in the shortest format of the game.

T20 World Cup 2024: Wizard of Wicketkeeping

PlayerDismissals Catches Stumpings
MS Dhoni (IND)322111
Kamran Akmal (PAK)301218
Denesh Ramdin (WI)27189
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)261214
Quinton de Kock (SA)22175

India’s MS Dhoni leads the list of most dismissals by a wicketkeeper with 32 (21 catches and 11 stumpings), a display of his quick reactions and strategic skills behind the stumps.

Pakistan’s Kamran Akmal is in second place with 30 dismissals, who holds the record for most stumpings (18).

Fielding ExcellenceT20 World Cup 2024: Fielding Excellence

PlayerNo. of catches taken
AB de Villiers (SA)23
David Warner (AUS)21
Martin Guptill (NZ)19
Glenn Maxwell (AUS), Rohit Sharma (IND)16
Kane Williamson (NZ), Dwayne Bravo (WI)15

South Africa’s AB de Villiers is renowned for his exceptional fielding skills, holding the record for most catches by a non-wicketkeeper with 23. David Warner of Australia and Martin Guptill of New Zealand are also included in it. Demonstrated his reliability and agility in the field, with 21 and 19 catches respectively.

T20 World Cup 2024: looking towards 2024

As we approach the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, these records are setting the stage for another exciting tournament. With legends like Rohit Sharma and Shakib Al Hasan continuing to add to their impressive legacy, and rising stars eager to make their mark, fans can expect a festival of cricket filled with breathtaking performances and new records. The T20 World Cup remains cricket’s biggest platform to showcase the best talent in the shortest format of the game.

Also Read: Pakistan Strongest Probable Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 | T20 World Cup 2024 Pakistan Squad: 

For more details, visit: ICC