T20 World Cup 2024
T20 World Cup 2024

Five penalty runs were given to the USA during the India match in New York | Qualification: The stop clock rule was tested in international matches from December last year and was permanently implemented in international T20 cricket by the ICC at the end of its trial period in April 2024.

Teams have 60 seconds to begin the following over under this rule, which controls the amount of time that passes between overs. If a bowling team exceeds the time during their fielding innings, they will be given two warnings and fined five runs for each infraction.

And USA became the first team to be fined one run for the third infraction during a low-scoring encounter with India at the Nassau County International Stadium in New York.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: USA vs India Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma depart early, India needs to chase 111-run target; | Match Details

“Three times they’ve exceeded the sixty seconds they have allotted to get through between overs,” commentator Ebony Rainford-Brent said. “So they’ve been going slow, moving slow, maybe overthinking due to the pressure in this game.

“Maybe sometimes that’s the difference between two sides. India have been there and done that at so many tournaments. Aaron Jones is living out his best at the moment, two wins, kind of up there at the top of the group with four points and hoping, maybe overthinking about strategy. You can’t afford that in this format.”

When the penalty was imposed in the match, USA were on the backfoot, with India at 76/3 and needing 35 runs from the final five overs to win.

And they did just that, with Suryakumar Yadav scoring an unbeaten 50* to guide India to victory and into the Super 8 stage, helped by those extra five runs.

“It’s a new rule that’s come up,” former India international and ICC commentator Dinesh Karthik explained.

“There’s been a lot of pressure on the bowling team captain – India just got away with it in the game against Pakistan, where they had two faults and the third one would have been a strike. But now America have definitely done this to themselves.

Four teams have qualified for the T20 World Cup 2024’s next round

Numerous expectations have already been met by the ICC Men’s T20I World Cup. The tournament has seen rising stars emerge, stellar performances from big players, blockbuster matches, super overs and several upsets.

So, as we approach the final stretch of group stage action, let’s take stock and assess where every team stands, who has progressed and who has more potential.

T20 World Cup 2024: Confirmed Qualifiers

T20 World Cup 2024 Confirmed Qualifiers
T20 World Cup 2024 Confirmed Qualifiers

The excitement around international cricket has been building, and the most recent development is guaranteed to delight cricket enthusiasts everywhere.

After performing outstanding performances to represent their respective groups, four dominant teams have now guaranteed their places in the next round of the competition.

Let's examine these teams in more detail and the factors that have contributed to their success.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: In the important match between Pakistan and Canada in Group A, Pakistan won against Canada

Source: ICC