SL vs ZIM 2024: Sri Lanka Announced Squad for the ODI Series Against Zimbabwe, Kusal Mendis will be the Captain
Sri Lankan

SL vs ZIM 2024: Sri Lanka Announced Squad for the ODI Series Against Zimbabwe, Kusal Mendis will be the Captain: Sri Lankan Cricket Board has announced a 15-member squad for the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe. The ODI Series will start on January 06, 2024, and all the games will be played at different venues whereas the first match will be played at R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

Kusal Mendis will be leading the ODI side in this series against Zimbabwe. Sri Lankan Tam Management named wicket-keeper Batsman Kusal Mendis as their full-time ODI captain after the all-rounder Dasun Shanaka resigned from the position. Mendis played exceptional cricket for Sri Lanka in the past few years, especially in the ODI World Cup 2023, which resulted in getting this opportunity.

Players like Akila Dananjaya, Avishka Fernando, and Jeffrey Vandersay return to the ODI side after a long time. The Addition of these players will strengthen the bench strength of Sri Lanka in this ODI series.

There are a few new faces in the spin department of Sri Lanka in this ODI series, Jeffrey Vandersay and Akila Dananjaya will be supporting Wanidu Hasaranga and Dunith Wellalage but due to the injury concern, Hasaranga might not be available for the few games in this series.

Akila Dananjaya and Dunith Wellalage are expected to play the first ODI match against Zimbabwe however, Jeffrey Vandersay might not get a chance to show his skills in this ODI series. The Sri Lankan Team have a decent pace attack but the conditions will support spinners a lot.

The New Selection Committee of the Sri Lanka Cricket Board has made several changes to the squad after having a poor performance in the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 as they finished in 9th position in the league stage. This Revamping of the Sri Lankan Team might led them to have good achievements in the upcoming series and tournaments.

SL vs ZIM 2024: Sri Lanka ODI Squad against Zimbabwe:

Kusal Mendis (Captain), Charith Asalanka, Pathum Nissanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Wanidu Hasaranga, Avishka Fernando, Sahan Arachchige, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Wellalage, Akila Dananjaya.

Read Also: DC Squad, Captain IPL 2024: Delhi Capitals Players List After Auction, Retained Players, Overseas Players-All You Need To Know

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC