Pakistan cricket team
Pakistan cricket team

The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced on Thursday, 30 June 2022, the men’s central contracts list for the 2022-23 edition, with the introduction of separate red and white-ball contracts.
Pakistan Skipper Babar Azam, wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan, opener Imam-ul-Haq and the fast-bowling duo of Shaheen Afridi and Hasan Ali were handed both red and white-ball contracts.

babar azam
Babar Azam

ICC Review: Can Babar Azam be No.1 in all three formats?

Middle-order Azhar Ali was promoted to Class A of the red ball, while Abdullah Shafique and Naseem Shah were placed in Division C for the first time along with Saud Shakeel in Division D.

Pakistan Cricket, Board has increased the number of mid-contract players from last year’s list of 20 to 33 this year. In a special list of white football contracts, Fakhar Zaman and Shadab Khan are included in Category A.

Two names not on the previous list are Faheem Ashraf and Mohammad Hasnain, who were in Category B and C respectively last year. While veteran spinner Yasir Shah has been moved from Stage B to D (red ball).

Shaheen Afridi: The Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Player of the Year

Pakistan cricket, former captain batsman (WK) Sarfaraz Ahmed, who last featured in a Test match on January month of 2019, has been named Class D of red-ball contracts. This year’s Emerging Contracts list features all-rounder Qasim Akram, who led Pakistan in this year’s ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup. Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir have been promoted from Emerging player’s contracts to Class D this year. The contract will come into impact from Friday, July 1st.

Shaheen Afridi
Shaheen Afridi


Category A – Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaheen Shah Afridi
Category B (red-ball) and Category C (white-ball) – Hasan Ali
Category C (red-ball) and Category B (white-ball) – Imam-ul-Haq
Category A
– Azhar Ali
Category B – Fawad Alam
Category C – Abdullah Shafique, Naseem Shah and Nauman Ali
Category D – Abid Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah
Category A
– Fakhar Zaman and Shadab Khan
Category B – Haris Rauf
Category C – Mohammad Nawaz
Category D – Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir and Zahid Mehmood
Ali Usman, Haseebullah, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Huraira, Qasim Akram and Salman Ali Agha.