Mitchell Marsh Named Captain of Australia's T20 Side for South Africa Tour and T20 World Cup 2024
Mitchell Marsh

Mitchell Marsh Named Captain of Australia’s T20 Side for South Africa Tour and T20 World Cup 2024: All-rounder Mitchell Marsh will lead the T20 side of Australia in the South Africa Tour and T20 World Cup 2024. Mitchell Marsh is being offered the first opportunity to potentially assume the role of Australia’s T20 Captain, which could make him the successor to Aaron Finch.

Aaron Finch announced his retirement from T20I cricket in January 2023. Aaron Finch captained Australia in 76 T20I matches. In Aaron Finch’s captaincy, Australia won its first T20 World Cup in 2021 in Dubai. 

For the last two years, Mitchell Marsh played outstanding cricket with both bat and ball, which helped him to be chosen as Australia Men’s National Cricket Team captain. Marsh debuted for the Australian senior team in 2011 in the T20 format. 

Cricket Australia (CA) chief selector George Bailey said, “ Mitchell Marsh played cricket for Australia from 12 years”. After Aaron Finch retired from T20I cricket, an opportunity to play as Captain for Australia came to Marsh.

Marsh is going to lead the new T20I side of Australia for the three-match T20I series against South Africa. All-rounder Aaron Hardie, Matt Short, Left-Arm Pacer Spencer Johnson, and Tanveer Sangha are added to the T20I side of Australia for the upcoming tour. 

Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa, and Mitchell Marsh are the experienced players of Team Australia for the South Africa Tour. 

Mitchell Marsh T20I Career Stat:

Matches Played: 46

Runs: 1087

Wickets: 15

Average: 29.4

Strike Rate: 127.1

Australia T20 squad: Mitchell Marsh (C), Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (Wk), Sean Abbott, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Adam Zampa.

South Africa Vs Australia T20 Series Schedule/Fixtures:

DateMatch DetailsTimeVenue
30 Aug 2023 South Africa vs Australia, 1st T20I09:30 PMKingsmead, Durban
01 Sep 2023South Africa vs Australia, 2nd T20I09:30 PMKingsmead, Durban
03 Sep 2023South Africa vs Australia, 3rd T20I05:30 PMKingsmead, Durban

Read This Also: PKL 2023 Auction: Full List of Retained Players by All Teams Ahead of Pro Kabaddi League Season 10 Auction

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC