Img subjected to copyright.

The TATA IPL 2022 begins on the 26th of March. The first game is supposed to be played between the Chennai Super Kings and the Kolkata Knight Riders. These franchises are owned by some of the biggest names in the corporate world. From the Ambanis to the Wadias, from the Mallya’s to the Jindals! Associating big names brought in a lot of free marketing for the franchises. Bringing in stars of Bollywood has also helped them grow a lot. Here is a look at all the owners of the teams: 

Mumbai Indians are owned by the Ambanis in IPL 2022: 

From the very first season, the Mumbai Indians are owned by the richest man in India. Mukesh Ambani and Nita Ambani are owners of the Mumbai Indians. The management of the Mumbai Indians is top-notch. The players feel welcome in this franchise. The owner, employee dynamic doesn’t exist in this team. The team likes to call their convoy, “One Family”. The Ambanis have taken up initiatives like Education for All, Sports for All, and many other noble causes. The team has formed a large fanbase. Their on-field success brings a lot of marketing for Jio and Reliance Corporation in general.  

Anant and Aakash Ambani have always shown keen interest in the franchise. IMG SRC: India TV News

Chennai Super Kings are owned by Chennai Super Kings Ltd: 

N Srinivasan, the former member of the BCCI was an integral part of the management of the IPL. His son-in-law, Gurunath Meriyappan, also worked for the development of the franchise. The team for the first few seasons was owned by India Cements. The ownership was then transferred to Chennai Super Kings Ltd. This corporation was formed after the 2015 match-fixing scandal. The Chennai Super Kings have also made available a few shares in the market for investors.  

Punjab Kings are owned by Preity Zinta and Ness Wadia in TATA IPL 2022: 

It is always a lovely sight to see Preity Zinta in the stands cheering for the Punjab Kings. The hasn’t won the IPL title ever but the excitement that the team brings in is amazing. The Punjab franchise has always nurtured local talents. One can never forget that they groomed players like Manpreet Gony, VRV Singh, Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh, Arshdeep Singh, and many more. The ownership is a 4-way deal with Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul in the mix.  

Rajasthan Royals are owned by Emerging Media in IPL 2022: 

The Royal Rajputs are owned by Emerging Media in IPL 2022. The other stakeholders in this franchise are Lachlan Murdoch and RedBird Capital Partners. The franchise was initially partly owned by Raj Kundra. It was amazing to see Shilpa Shetty at the stands, cheering for the team. The Halla Bol track is loved by the fans. Rajasthan also has worked on grooming local talent. Mahipal Lomror and Chetan Sakariya are two examples. 

Shilpa Shetty was always amazing on the ground! IMG SRC: iDiva.com

Kolkata Knight Riders are owned by Shahrukh Khan in IPL 2022: 

The team from Kolkata is owned by “King Khan” of Bollywood alongside Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta. The KKR management has invested in other leagues like the CPL as well. Kolkata Knight Riders are the only franchise that has turned profitable. It generates a revenue of 2 to 3 crores every year. The management team includes Venky Mysore, the CEO of Red Chillies Entertainment. The team is very well managed and the players form a bond with the management team. 

Lucknow Super Giants are owned by the RPSG Group in TATA IPL 2022: 

Sanjeev Goenka and his love for Sports is never-ending. Sanjeev Goenka has always invested in the IPL and other sports leagues. Goenka realizes the power of sport and the marketing that it brings alongside it. The Lucknow Super Giants’ tender was won at the price of a whopping 7090 Crores. Sanjeev has also invested in the ISL team, ATK-Mohun Bagan. With the marketing surrounding the team and with the big bucks that have been spent, every fan is keen to see what the team does on the pitch.  

Royal Challengers Bangalore are owned by United Spirits Group: 

The Royal Challengers Bangalore were initially owned by the flamboyant Vijay Mallya. It was always amazing to see the man with his “French-Beard” in the stands. Siddharth Mallya was an entertainer as well. The team was then transferred to the United Spirits Group. It is an affiliate group of the Mallya’s. The RCB management markets the team very well. They have the most honest and loving fanbase.  

Sunrisers Hyderabad is owned by Kalanithi Maran and Sun TV Group: 

The Sun TV Group owns the Sunrisers Hyderabad. This is exactly where their name comes from. The team first participated in the IPL in IPL 2012. The best thing loved by the fans is the presence of the lovely Kavya Maran at the stadium with a bright smile. The team has won the league in 2016 and most of the seasons have reached the playoffs. After having a fallout with their captain David Warner last season, the team will be looking to start afresh. They are also working on establishing cricket academies for young talent. 

Delhi Capitals are owned by JSW Group and the Jindals: 

The team from the capital city is owned by the Jindals. Parth Jindal is the face of the franchise. The flag-bearer of this empire is present at almost every game of his beloved franchise. The Capitals always work with local and younger talents. The team has worked with Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Unmukt Chand, and this season they have Yash Dhull. They also roped in Pradeep Sangwan in the first season. Parth himself is a big fan of the sport and is strongly opinionated about the game.  

Gujarat Titans are owned by the CVC Capitals Group in TATA IPL 2022: 

Gujarat Titans are the second franchise after LSG which will make its debut this season. Most details about the management are not clear yet. But the CVC Capitals have experience of working with sports franchises. They have worked with an F1 team. The Capitals bought the Gujarat-based team for a jaw-dropping 5600+ Crores.  

To know more go to the official website of the BCCI.