Image subjected to copyright.

Cricket today has become the strong man’s game. It has now become a game of power and strength. However, there is a certain group of players who believe in moving the ball around and timing the ball. Liam Livingstone from the Punjab Kings in IPL 2022 doesn’t believe in timing. He is a player who is adamant about striking the ball with power. Liam entered the record books for the longest six in the history of the IPL on the 3rd of May while playing against the Gujarat Titans. Here is a look at the other long sixes in the IPL: 

Liam Livingstone Hits 117m Six off Shami in IPL 2022: 

Punjab Kings won their game against table-toppers Gujarat Titans on the 3rd of May. The stars of the game were KG Rabada and Shikhar Dhawan. Liam Livingstone also played a valuable cameo by scoring 30* off 10 balls only. One particular moment left most of the players’ jaws dropped. It was when Liam Livingstone hit Mohammad Shami for a huge, monstrous six. The distance calculator was raised to 117m! This made this clean hit the longest six of the IPL 2022 season. It was in the 16th over just after the strategic timeout that Liam slammed Shami in the deep square leg and fine leg area. The ball went on the top tier of the DY Patil Stadium. The reaction of Mayank Agarwal was worth watching.  

Longest Hits in the History of the IPL: 

Year Batsman  Team Distance  
2008 Albie Morkel Chennai Super Kings 125m 
2008 Praveen Kumar Royal Challengers Bangalore 124m 
2011 Adam Gilchrist  Kings XI Punjab  122m  
2010 Robin Uthappa Royal Challengers Bangalore 120m 
2013 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 119m 
2009 Yuvraj Singh Kings XI Punjab 119m 
2009 Ross Taylor Royal Challengers Bangalore 119m  
2013 Gautam Gambhir Kolkata Knight Riders 117m 
2016 Ben Cutting Sunrisers Hyderabad 117m  
2022 Liam Livingstone Punjab Kings 117m 

IPL 2022 Longest Sixes: 

Batter  Bowler Distance 
Liam Livingstone (PBKS) Mohammed Shami (GT) 117m 
Dewald Brevis (MI) Rahul Chahar (PBKS) 112m 
Liam Livingstone (PBKS) Mukesh Chaudari (CSK) 108m 
Jos Butler (RR) Shardul Thakur (DC) 107m 
Liam Livingstone (PBKS) Umran Malik (SRH) 106m 
Jos Butler (RR) Kuldeep Yadav (DC)  105m 
Liam Livingstone (PBKS)  Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB) 105m 
Marcus Stoinis (LSGMurugan Ashwin (MI)  104m 
Dewald Brevis (MI) Rahul Chahar (PBKS) 102m 
Shivam Dube (CSK) Josh Hazlewood (RCB) 102m 

To know more go to the official website of the IPL.