India vs West Indies 2nd match review
India vs West Indies 2nd match review

India vs West Indies 2nd T20I Match Review: West Indies beat India by five wickets on the second day of the India vs West Indies T20 International match. Brandon King’s half-century and Devon Thomas’s unbeaten knock helped West Indies to a crucial T20I win against India at home when Obed McCoy took six crucial wickets. The incident happened for the first time since 2019 when the hosts managed to beat India at home in the shortest format of the game.

Defending the target of 139 runs, the Indian bowlers managed to take the game to the last over. However, Nicholas Pooran and Shimron Hetmyer ended each other in a few balls of the innings and Brandon King put the pressure on the hosts. Wicketkeeper-batsman Devon Thomas took him over the line with a boundary and a six in the 20th over. Earlier, McCoy recorded the best figures of 6/17 by a West Indies bowler in T20Is.

Although the second match of IND vs WI T20I was to start at its scheduled time due to the players not arriving on time, it was started with a delay of two hours. In this round, in the Indian camp, T20 game format IPL legend Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja poor performance of players and lost ten wickets at 138 such a low score. It’s just a coincidence. Well, let’s see the performance of both the teams in the figures given below.

West Indies Batting

Kyle Mayers c Ravichandran Ashwin b Hardik Pandya8141057.14
Brandon King b Avesh Khan685282130.76
Nicholas Pooran CPT c Suryakumar Yadav b Ravichandran Ashwin141111127.27
Shimron Hetmyer c & b Ravindra Jadeja6101060.00
Devon Thomas WKT NOT OUT311912163.15
Rovman Powell b Arshdeep Singh480050.00
Odean Smith NOT OUT4400100.00
Jason Holder
Akeal Hosein
Alzarri Joseph
Obed McCoy

India Batting

Rohit Sharma CPT c Akeal Hosein b Obed McCoy01000.00
Suryakumar Yadav c Devon Thomas b Obed McCoy11601183.33
Shreyas Iyer c Devon Thomas b Alzarri Joseph10110190.90
Rishabh Pant WKT c Odean Smith b Akeal Hosein241212200.00
Hardik Pandya c Odean Smith b Jason Holder313112100.00
Ravindra Jadeja c Rovman Powell b Obed McCoy27300190.00
Dinesh Karthik c Alzarri Joseph b Obed McCoy7130053.84
Ravichandran Ashwin c Odean Smith b Obed McCoy10620166.66
Bhuvneshwar Kumar c Devon Thomas b Obed McCoy130033.33
Avesh Khan b Jason Holder8401200.00