Afghanistan tour of India
Rohit Sharma

World Cup 2023: India vs Sri Lanka Match No 33, Toss and Rohit Sharma Big Wicket | live update: Sri Lanka opted to field first after captain Kusal Mendis won the toss ahead of their clash with India in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. After accepting the offer to bat, the Indian team is facing problems while batting on these blue pitches.

Score: IND 86/1 15 over

India vs Sri Lanka Toss:

The Sri Lankan team won the toss and decided to bowl against India. Captain Kusal Mendis called it right and decided to field first. Dushan Hemantha comes into the playing XI in place of Dhananjay de Silva.

India’s batting line-up saw opening pair captain Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill come out to bat first and believed it was a good wicket apart from some early help for the fast bowlers.

He also said that the ball may move a little in the evening. India played with the same playing XI’s that had won against England in Lucknow.

India is looking to continue their spotless start to the campaign and secure their seventh consecutive win, which will ensure their qualification for the knockout stage of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

The hosts can also take first place in the standings from South Africa ahead of the clash at the top of the table, although they will first have to overcome a Sri Lankan side who have a lot to play for.

Rohit Sharma Wicket.

The opening pair, while batting, could not hold their wicket for long. Captain Rohit Sharma, in the first over of Dilshan Madushanka, hit a four while playing a cut shot on the leg side on the first ball and did not understand the second ball and was bowled out.

Hardik Pandya injury.

In the tournament, Indian star all-rounder Hardik Pandya had to be ruled out of the team due to an ankle injury, due to which the team suffered a big blow, but India aims to continue its winning streak without Hardik Pandya. However, after Mohammed Shami replaced him, exceptional bowling contributed significantly to India maintaining their win.

Sri Lanka Previous Losses.

In this encounter, Sri Lanka needs to recover from the crushing defeat to Afghanistan to revive their campaign, which is on the verge of collapse with only two wins from six matches and only Bangladesh and New Zealand still to come.

The 1996 World Cup champions have had to replace captain Dasun Shanaka, Lahiru Kumara and Mathisha Pathirana since arriving in India, while star spinner Wanindu Hasaranga was dropped before the start of the trip.

But injury-hit Sri Lanka should not be overlooked with Sadira Samarawickrama, Pathum Nissanka and stand-in captain Kusal Mendis in good form with the bat, while Dilshan Madushanka and Kasun Rajitha have made an impact with the ball.

Also Read: ICC Player Rankings, Pakistan’s Babar, Afridi at TOP, check the full Rankings After Pakistan vs Bangladesh 2023 | ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings

India vs Sri Lanka Playing XIs.

India vs Sri Lanka
India vs Sri Lanka

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (c) (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, Dushan Hemantha, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2023 Points Table [Rank 1 to 10], South Africa Surpassed India After New Zealand vs South Africa Match | ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Standings

India vs Sri Lanka Squads.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (wk), Shubman GillVirat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar YadavRavindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Ishan Kishan

Sri Lanka: Kusal Mendis (c & wk), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha, Kusal Perera.

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC