Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson

New Zealand have finalized their squad for this year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, aiming to improve on their runner-up finish in the 2019 tournament.

The squad was confirmed at Papatoetoe High School in Auckland, the alma mater of leg spinner Ish Sodhi.

Captain Kane Williamson, who made a speedy recovery from a torn ACL during the 2023 IPL, is part of the squad, as is fast bowler Tim Southee, both of whom are appearing in their fourth World Cup.

Williamson: An excellent captain:

Kane Williamson, often regarded as one of the finest cricket minds of his generation, has not only been performing consistently with the bat but has also displayed exceptional leadership qualities. His calm demeanor on the field, astute cricket skills and ability to take important decisions under pressure have earned him the respect of cricket lovers around the world.

The backbone of New Zealand cricket:

The New Zealand team also has no dearth of experience. With experienced campaigners like Tim Southee, Trent Boult and Ross Taylor, the Kiwis have a squad that is striving hard to break into international cricket. Having represented their country on several occasions, these players bring invaluable experience to the team.

Mark Chapman, who has been in fine white-ball form, has found his place in the team along with 23-year-old spin-bowling all-rounder Rachin Ravindra, who impressed with figures of 3/48 against England in the recent ODI.

Notably, young top-order batsman Finn Allen and backup wicketkeeper Tim Seifert did not find a place, while Tom Latham was selected as the sole wicketkeeper.

Adam Milne, who suffered a hamstring injury during New Zealand’s tour of England, is also absent.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead acknowledged the challenging decisions he had to make while selecting the final squad, but believes he has struck the right balance of youth and experience for the tournament in India.

He expressed his excitement and pride at representing the country in the World Cup.

New Zealand will face England and Bangladesh in ODIs before the World Cup opener against England on October 5, which will be a rematch of the 2019 final.

New Zealand team Squad:

Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Latham (wicketkeeper/vice-captain), Mark Chapman, Will Young, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, James Neesham, Glenn Phillips (wicketkeeper), Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi.

ALSO READ: Asia Cup 2023 Super 4 Points Table After Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Match | Asia Cup 2023 Super Four Ranking