ICC Men's T20 World Cup
ICC Men's T20 World Cup

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup: nail-biting successful run chase on the final ball: The historic ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is set to take place in the West Indies and USA from June 1, with a record 20 teams competing for the coveted silverware.

From Netherlands performing brilliantly against England to India pulling off a memorable win against arch-rivals Pakistan on the back of Virat Kohli’s masterclass, the T20 World Cup has seen the impossible.

India vs Pakistan (2022)

T20 World Cup 2024: Team India Full Schedule, Venues, Where to Watch | ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024
T20 World Cup 2024

In 2022, India scripted one of the most memorable finishes by defeating Pakistan in a last-ball thriller despite adverse conditions.

Pakistan struggled to get off to a good start when batting first, as Arshdeep Singh dismissed both of its openers, Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam. However, the squad was able to reach the target of 160 runs with to consistent efforts from Iftikhar Ahmed (51 runs in 34 balls) and Shan Masood (52 runs in 42 balls).

KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma failed to make a mark on the pitch while chasing the target, but Virat Kohli’s exceptional performance and Hardik Pandya’s (40 runs in 37 balls) steady innings kept India in the match.

With 13 runs needed off the last three balls, Pakistan were favorites to win, but a no-ball from Mohammad Nawaz changed the situation and Kohli hit a six on it, leaving their target at six runs off three balls.

On the final ball of the game, Ravichandran Ashwin remained calm and lofted the ball over mid-off to help his team cross the finishing line to one of their most memorable wins.

Ireland vs Zimbabwe (2014)

In 2014, Ireland successfully completed the run-chase on the last ball against Zimbabwe in the group stage. The close encounter between the two teams witnessed a dramatic fixture, with Irish bowlers Andy McBrine and George Dockrell displaying exceptional skill, taking two wickets each for 26 runs and 18 runs respectively. A captaincy inning from Brendan Taylor (59 off 46 balls) took Zimbabwe to a competitive total of 163/5.

Ireland’s openers, captain William Porterfield (31 runs from 23 balls) and Paul Stirling (60 runs from 34 balls) helped the team chase the target, but Tinashe Panyangara’s four wickets sealed the match. Requiring four runs off the final over, Ireland managed to bowl out Zimbabwe with three wickets remaining.

Zimbabwe vs Netherlands (2014)

After failing to defend their score in a last-ball thriller against Ireland in the same edition, Zimbabwe made up for it by equally overcoming the Netherlands – winning on the last ball.

After a poor performance from the Netherlands’ top order and a brilliant spell with the ball from Zimbabwe’s Prosper Utseya, who took two wickets for only 24 runs in his four overs, a responsible innings from Tom Cooper (72 off 58 balls) was dismissed. This helped Netherlands to end their innings with 140 runs on the scoreboard.

Chasing the target, Hamilton Masakadza (43 runs from 45 balls) and Brendan Taylor (49 runs from 39 balls) gave Zimbabwe a steady but brilliant spell with two wickets from Peter Seelaar taking the match to the last ball. When one run was needed off one ball, Vusi Sibanda did it brilliantly with a six.

Sri Lanka vs India (2010)

The next iconic last ball chase took place between two Asian giants – Sri Lanka and India. Gautam Gambhir (41 runs in 32 balls) and Suresh Raina (63 runs in 47 balls) helped India set a target of 164 runs for its neighbors on the basis of a brilliant spell by Lasith Malinga.

Where the right arm fast bowler took two wickets. Took wickets for only 25 runs in his four overs.

Moving to bat, Sri Lanka lost both their openers in the first two overs of the innings, but Tillakaratne Dilshan (33 runs from 26 balls). Kumar Sangakkara (46 runs in 33 balls) and Angelo Mathews (46 runs) played consecutive innings. 37 balls) helped stabilize the team.

When the match was almost slipping away from them, an explosive innings from Chamara Kapugedera (37 runs in 16 balls) helped Sri Lanka reach the finishing line by hitting a six on the last ball.

Also Read: “Definitely India” – Kamran Akmal backs India to win the IND vs PAK T20 World Cup 2024 clash on June 9

Netherlands vs England (2009)

The Netherlands were the first team to achieve this feat in the tournament by defeating England in 2009. Batting first, England made a strong start thanks to brilliant innings from both their openers, Ravi Bopara (46 runs from 34 balls) and Luke Wright (71 runs from 49 balls), but with his experience, Ryan ten Doeschate took the lead in the match.

Succeeded in turning the tables. By taking both the wickets the match was in favor of the underdogs. England found it difficult to control themselves and could only score 162/5.

James Anderson and Stuart Broad led the bowling attack for England, making the chase of 163 look difficult for the Dutch. Within the first four overs, the Netherlands had lost their opening batsmen – Alexey Cervezi and Daron Rieckers – and the third wicket of Bas Zuiderant fell soon after.

When the match looked to be completely over for the batting team, a brilliant innings from Tom de Gruyth (49 runs from 30 balls) helped the Netherlands take control of the situation and eventually score two runs on the last ball of the match.

When it mattered, the Netherlands took the match. Historic win against the hosts at Lord’s by taking advantage of Stuart Broad’s overthrow.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: All teams from Group A squads, key players, and schedules.

For more updates, visit: ICC