Australia Tour of India 2023

Australia’s tour to India Test and one-day matches will be played on, in which the first test match will be played. Both the Team India and Australia are gearing up for an exciting start to all the matches, the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium hosting the opening Test match between India and Australia.

India vs Australia first Test match begins on Thursday, February 9. The Test series will also be crucial for India as they will be eyeing a nomination for the finals of the World Test Championship (WTC).

Ahead of the thrilling encounter, we take a look at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium pitch in Nagpur, also a glimpse of India and Australia’s records in Nagpur.

IND vs AUS 1st Test Match Pitch Report:

Nagpur’s Vidarbha Cricket Association pitch is fast bowler friendly and helps the fast bowlers to maintain pace and momentum. However, in the last Test match played at this stadium in 2017, the dominance of the spin bowler was seen. The spin bowlers took a total of 13 wickets during the India-Sri Lanka match.

IND vs AUS 1st Test Match Squad
IND vs AUS 1st Test Match Squad

Indian spin bowler Ravichandran Ashwin took 8 wickets, while Ravindra Jadeja took 5 wickets as India won the match by an innings and 239 runs. It has been six years since that match and it will be interesting to see whether the pitch favours the pacers or the spin bowlers this time.

IND vs AUS 1st Test Match Whether Report:

IND vs AUS 1st Test Match Whether Report
IND vs AUS 1st Test Match Whether Report

The five-day clash between India and Australia in India on different venues, the very first test match of India vs Australia will not be hampered by weather as per the weather forecast at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, with no sign of rain during the match. It will be an average of 36 degree.

IND vs AUS 1st Test Match Playing XI:

India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Australia: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Matthew Renshaw, Peter Handscomb, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Todd Murphy, Nathan Lyon, Scott Boland

IND v AUS 1st Test Match Head to Head

Matches: 102
Won by India: 30 (29.41 percent)
Won by Australia: 43 (42.15 percent)
Drawn: 28
Tied: 1

IND vs AUS 1st Test Match Squads:

India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav

Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Peter Handscomb (wk), Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Australia Tour of India 2023:

Australia Tour of India 2023

First Test: February 9-13
Second Test: February 17-21
Third Test: March 1-5
Fourth Test: March 9-13

First ODI: March 17
Second ODI: March 19
Third ODI: March 22

Also Read: India VS Australia Tests: 3 Key Players for the Indian Cricket Team in Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023.