Australia Tour of India 2023: Full Schedule, Squads, Details, Venue, Timings, Venue. All You Need to Know.  

Australia tour of India 2023

The Australia tour of India in 2023 will get underway after the India VS New Zealand series. Over the years, this series in all its formats has given us several moments to cherish. We have seen Rishabh Pant win the game for India at the Gabba, we have had the heated exchange between Virat and Johnson in 2014, and we have also had the “brain fade” incident in 2017. Not to mention the contentious test match in 2008. With that being said, this series has always given us one thing: entertainment. Australia tour of India 2023 also promises the it. Here is an in-depth look at the same: 

Australia Tour of India 2023 Full Schedule: 

Date Matches Venue Timing 
9th – 13th February India VS Australia 1st Test VCA Stadium, Nagpur 9:30 AM 
17th – 21st February India VS Australia 2nd Test Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi 9:30 AM 
1st – 5th March India VS Australia 3rd Test HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala 9:30 AM 
9th – 13th March India VS Australia 4th Test Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad 9:30 AM 

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023 Squads and Previews: 

Australian Cricket Team Preview Before Australia Tour of India 2023: 

Australia Tour of India. 2023
Todd has joined the Australian Squad for the first time and that too after a great domestic season. IMG SRC: Sydney Sixers.
  • Key Points and Preview of the Australian Squad: 
  • Todd Murphy an uncapped spinner has been picked over Adam Zampa. He had a good domestic season in Australia.  
  • Mitchell Starc has been ruled out of the first test match due to injury. 

The team is coming off a great home season. They have played great test cricket over the past year starting with the Ashes. They have also played against the West Indies, but their strongest opposition was South Africa. The Australian batters negotiated very well with the pace and bounce extracted by Nortje and Kagiso Rabada. The Australian team’s motive in the Australia tour of India is to get as many points as possible so that they don’t lose the top spot in the WTC table. The Australia tour of India is often addressed as the final frontier in Australian media and the team is keen on conquering this frontier.


Pat Cummins (C), Steve Smith(VC), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Starc*, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Expected Playing XI:  

David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc/Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Scott Boland/Mitchell Swepson.  

*Mitchell Starc has been ruled out of the first test match which will be played at Nagpur due to injury.  

Indian Cricket Team for the 1st Two Tests: 

  • Jasprit Bumrah has not been picked or the clarity around his name has not been provided.  
  • Sarfaraz Khan, unfortunately, misses out and Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan get their national call-ups.  
  • One of the middle-order batters is certain to get an opportunity in the absence of Rishabh Pant. 
Australia Tour of India 2023
His effort against Bangladesh has paid off great dividends. IMG SUBJECTED TO COPYRIGHT.

Rohit and Rahul will open the batting and Shubman Gill will have to wait for his opportunity. India will pick three spinners due to the batting depth that they provide. Ashwin, Jaddu, and Axar are the most probable ones. The Indian cricket team has set its sights on the World Test Championship final. In the Australia Tour of India 2023, their motive will be to win at least 3 test matches so that they seal a spot in the final. The Australia tour of India is crucial for the INdian cricket team.


Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Shubman Gill, C Pujara, V Kohli, S Iyer, KS Bharat (WK), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.  

Expected Playing XI: 

Rohit Sharma(C), KL Rahul (VC), Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, S Iyer, Ishan Kishan/KS Bharat (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohd Shami, Mohd Siraj. 

To know more go to Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023 Squad Announced. BCCI Announces Team for New Zealand and Australia Series. Prithvi Shaw is Back for T20s.

Read more such articles at Rahul Dravid Health Scare. Will Not Be Travelling with the Indian Cricket team for the 3rd ODI.

To know more go to the official website of the BCCI.