AUS vs WI Test 2024: Australia & West Indies Announces Playing XI

AUS vs WI Test 2024: Australia & West Indies Announces Playing XI for the First Test Match | West Indies Tour of Australia 2024: Australia will be playing the first match of a two matches test series against West Indies at Adelaide Oval Cricket Stadium in Adelaide, Australia. Both teams have already announced their Playing XI for the first test match, which is scheduled to start on January 17, 2024, at 5:00 AM (IST).

Steve Smith will be opening with Usman Khawaja in the first test match whereas Cameron Green confirmed his position at no.4, which was previously occupied by Steve Smith. Currently, the Australian Team is in first position in the ICC World Test Championship 2023-2024 Points Table with a rating of 121 and 4,102 points. This is an important series for the Australian Team as now, they need to strengthen their position for the ICC WTC 2023-25 Final.

The Australian Team is playing with their main test squad as all the key players return to the side. Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc will be leading the bowling department whereas Steve Smith, Travis Head and Marnus Labuschagne will be leading the batting department of the Australian Team in the first test match. It is expected that the Australian Team will dominate the West Indies.

West Indies have occupied the 8th position in the ICC World Test Championship 2023-2025 Points Table with a rating of 77 and 2,154 points. West Indies didn’t play many test matches in the past few months, which is why they are in a low position. Kraigg Brathwaite will be leading the test team of West Indies in the first match against Australia, and they need to perform better to win the test match against Australia.  

AUS vs WI Test 2024 Playing XI for the First Test Match:

Australia Playing XI: Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh, Alex Carey (WK), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (Captain), Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

West Indies Playing XI: Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Kirk McKenzie, Alick Athanaze, Kavem Hodge, Justin Greaves, Joshua Da Silva (WK), Gudakesh Motie, Alzarri Joseph, Shamar Joseph, Kemar Roach.

Read This: AUS vs WI 2024 Test Schedule, Squad | Australia vs West Indies Test series Fixtures, Match List, Venues and Live Streaming Details

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC