Asian Game 2023

Asian Game 2023: India won the gold medal by defeating Sri Lanka by 19 runs in the Women’s T20 final of the 19th Asian Games in Hangzhou, China.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh won the bronze medal in the third-place play-off against Pakistan.

This is the Indian women’s cricket team’s first gold medal win at the Asian Games, while runners-up Sri Lanka won the silver medal.

While this marked India’s initial participation in the Asian Games cricket competition, Sri Lanka had competed once before.

Bangladesh also remained on the podium in the women’s cricket event. They won the bronze medal against Pakistan in the third-place play-off, which was played between the losing semi-finalists.

This is the first time that Pakistan will return without a medal in a women’s cricket event.

India defeated Sri Lanka by 19 runs in the Asian Game Final.

Asian Game Fina: India defeated Sri Lanka by 19 runs
Asian Game Fina: India defeated Sri Lanka by 19 runs

India’s returning captain Harmanpreet Kaur called it fair at the time of the toss and decided to bat first. Sri Lanka was successful in taking the early wicket of Shafali Verma (9), but after this Smriti Mandhana (46) and Jemimah Rodrigues (42) took their team forward with a strong partnership of 73 runs. India faltered towards the end due to some disciplined bowling from Sri Lanka, but managed to reach 116/7

Women’s T20WC 2023 greatest performance by Jemimah Rodrigues

Asian Game 2023
Asian Game 2023

Sri Lanka was given a blow in response by a fast spell from youthful Titas Sadhu (3/6). In the powerplay, the fast bowler got three top-order wickets, including the dangerous Chamari Athapaththu.

The middle order of Sri Lanka sparked expectations by laboring in the middle overs, but India’s spinners kept the scoring pace under control and grabbed wickets at critical intervals.

Sri Lanka concluded with a score of 97/8, losing by 20 runs. With 25 runs, Hasini Perera led the way for Sri Lanka.

List of Medal winners in Asian Games 2023

Asian Games Women’s CricketGoldSilverBronze
2010 GuangzhouPakistanBangladeshJapan
2014 IncheonPakistanBangladeshSri Lanka
2022 HangzhouIndiaSri LankaBangladesh

Also Read: Asian Games: India’s flag bearers in the previous five editions

For more details head to ICC’s official website.

Asian game 2023: India vs Sri Lanka final Playing XI’s

India W Playing XI: Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Richa Ghosh (wk), Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Amanjot Kaur, Pooja Vastrakar, Titas Sadhu, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Sri Lanka W PlayingXI: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Anushka Sanjeewani (wk), Vishmi Gunaratne, Nilakshi de Silva, Hasini Perera, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Inoka Ranaweera, Kavisha Dilhari, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Inoshi Priyadharshani