ICC World Cup 2023
ICC World Cup 2023

Prize money: The excitement for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India has been taken up a notch with the announcement of a substantial prize fund.

On September 22, the International Cricket Council (ICC) disclosed that a total prize pool of USD 10 million awaits the participants in this highly anticipated cricketing event.

The largest share of this significant prize fund, a whopping USD 4 million, is earmarked for the ultimate victors of the Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

The grand finale is scheduled to take place on November 19 at the illustrious Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, where the world will witness the crowning of the cricketing champions.

Not to be overshadowed, the runners-up in the eagerly awaited final match will also enjoy a handsome reward, as they are slated to receive USD 2 million in recognition of their outstanding performance throughout the tournament.

The competition structure for this edition of the World Cup entails all ten participating teams engaging in a round-robin format during the Group Stage.

Each team will face off against the others once, leading to a total of 45 thrilling encounters. From this intense battle, the top four teams in the points table will earn the privilege of progressing to the semi-finals, where their quest for cricketing glory will reach its zenith.

However, the prize money isn’t just reserved for the eventual champions and runners-up. Teams will have the opportunity to accumulate wealth based on their performance during the Group Stage.

ALSO READ: The Indian football team has dropped three places in the most current FIFA rankings.

A triumphant victory in any of the group matches will result in a handsome reward of USD 40,000 for the victorious team. Even for those teams that may not advance to the knockout rounds, there is a consolation prize of USD 100,000 awaiting them at the conclusion of the Group Stage.

What sets this announcement apart is not just the substantial prize money on offer, but also the commendable commitment to gender equality in cricket.

The ICC has boldly declared that this distribution of prize money will serve as a precedent for the upcoming ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2025.

During the Annual Conference held in Durban, South Africa in July 2023, the ICC made the historic decision to offer equal financial rewards for both the men’s and women’s events, marking a significant step towards recognizing and promoting gender equality in the sport.

The unveiling of this generous prize money scheme adds an extra layer of anticipation and significance to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. Beyond the on-field battles and cricketing skills on display, it signifies substantial financial rewards for the participating teams and showcases the commitment of cricket’s governing body to gender equality within the sport.


StageRate US$Total US$
Winner (1)4,000,0004,000,000
Runner-up (1)2,000,0002,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2)800,0001,600,000
Teams eliminated after group stage (6)100,000600,000
Winner of each group stage match (45)40,0001,800,000
Total 10,000,000

As the tournament’s start date draws closer, the world eagerly awaits the thrilling cricketing action and the chance to witness history being made on the field.

The revelation of this generous prize money scheme adds an extra layer of excitement to the anticipation surrounding the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, making it a tournament of not just sporting significance but also substantial financial rewards for the participating teams.

ALSO READ: Manchester City begins its Treble Trophy Tour in India, with four trophies on display in Kochi.